Emily's Famous Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made this with a combo of store bought lady fingers and some angel food cake cut into ladyfinger size, and kahlua instead of rum, all leftover stuff. I used store bought whipped topping . I made it for DH's book club dinner, got raves about it. It really is better the onger it sits, I made it in the am and it would have been better if I had done it 1-2 days before. The angel food cake worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notyouraveragegranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I use this recipe all the time. I put Kahlua as well as the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Super recipe. To substitute mascarpone you can use cream cheese 16oz, 1/2c whipping cream, 5 Tbls sour cream. You need about 27-30" X 3" to wrap the cake. I make the long side using a cookie sheet lined with a 6" wide strip of parchment. I spread the cake batter 1/2" thick on the parchment and bake. I then use a sizzor and cut the strip in half then square up the ends. (You end up with 2 strips that when cut square on the ends is un-noticeable) I leave the parchment paper on and brush with coffee mixture and place in the spring form pan (parchment facing outwards) I use a 9" spring pan and make 8" rounds with parchment lined cake pans for the bottom and middle layers. The presentation is incredible. This way you can only see the sides when the pan is removed. I also used emrils coffee and filling recipe with 2 cups of whipping cream instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I fixed Emily's Tiramisu for an Italian themed dinner party. My husband who haad tiramisu at almost every restaurant we ate at in Italy thought mine was better. Will do this again. I used Meyer's Original Dark Rum for the dark rum. Based on the starbucks staff I ordered a cup of the Starbucks Verona - french pressed for the strong coffee. (I am not a coffee drinker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Very delicious. I didn't use enough liquor, but other than that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexiaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years now and it's amazing. I usually add a bit more liquor (and even add different kinds to complement the rum), and tend to use a little more mascarpone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this in a trifle dish for Christmas and it was absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I have made this twice in one week, for two different parties and everyone loved it each time. Thanks to the other raters saying it was too sweet, I had cut the sugar in HALF and it was just right. Great recipe, Emily. It's in my recipe book to make many more times. Shirley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I have made this recipe many times, and often get requests for it. I found it to be a little too sweet, so I have backed off on using a full cup of sugar in the syrup, and I use 1 cup of coffee instead of 1/2 cup to bring out a stronger flavor. Over all I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Everyone I make this for loves it. My boss said that it was better than any tiramisu he'd had in Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States