Emily's Famous Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This was not a tiramisu, it contained too much sugar, and was too fluffy. Pretty bad! The lady finger recipe was good but the over all recipe is no where close to what the classic tiramisu is! a real dissapointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Excellent recipe - thank you! I made this for a gathering of my in-laws, and they all agreed that it was better than any restaurant tiramisu they had ever eaten. Making the ladyfingers is definitely worth the bit of extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
This recipe was easy, and my husband's family loved it. They were also impressed by the homemade ladyfingers! Following the advice of other reviewers, I omitted the top sprinkling of powdered sugar and let it chill for 3 days. My ladyfinger sides baked a couple of minutes too long and were not pliable, so I made extra syrup to soak them in before pressing them into the pan. The excess syrup drained out of the bottom of my springform pan - I would definitely advise setting the pan on a plate! I would definitely make this recipe again and experiment with different liqueurs. I have another tiramisu recipe that calls for brandy, and I may try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Oh my...!!! I opted out the rum and used cream cheese instead and this was still the best tasting and easiest Tiramisu I've ever made. Even my great cook mom says so. She really loves it and has asked me to make it again next week. The ladyfingers batter was easy to manage and didn't spread out like other recipes I've tried. I was afraid the cheese mixture wouldn't set, but it did. So I really had no problems. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
Yum Yum! Wonderful Recipe. Tastes better the longer you let it sit in the fridge. The strong Rum taste went away after the second day. Will Make again. My Husband loved this. One thing I will do differently is soak the bottom layer a little more with the syrup. Mine was just a bit too bready still, while the midddle layer just melted away in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ayala Simmons
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
WOW should be enough, but for helpful purposes, I will continue with the rating. Initially, I was not very impressed with the ladyfinger recipe, but I will try it again. May have been my fault! I had only rum (no dark) and it turned out so good. I was totally disappointed in the recipe the day after I made it. However, before I threw it away (3 days later), I tasted it again and WOW! My conclusion: let it sit for a few days so the coffee and rum flavors can mix and saturate the ladyfingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This was wonderful and EVERYONE I served loved it! I made the recipe with skim ricotta instead of marscipone and it still turned out rather well -- I couldn't taste the difference (and neither could my date who is a tiramisu conoisseur). I'd reccomend it to anyone. . . and it's FANTASTIC the next day, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Absolutly Awesome! I plan on making this for my father (its his favorite) and I decided to do a trial run and test out the product on the guys I work with. They loved it. I followed other reviews and used less powdered sugar on the lady fingers and a mix of rum, coffee liqour, and chocolate liquor for the syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I love this recipe! The homemade l;ady fingers are awsome and easy to make. I'll never use stale, packaged ladyfingers again. I made several modifications to this recipe. Fisrt of all, like one other reviewer, I found this recipe very sweet. I omitted sprinkling of powdered sugar on the lady fingers. I substituted coffe liquour and creme de cacoa for the rum, to give it more chocolate flavor which was one of the coments I recieved the first time I made it. Because they are very sweet, I reduced the sugar in the filling by about 1/4 cup. To give it more chocolate flavor I also sprinkled grated chocolate and powdered cocoa on top of both layers. The result was perfect. I also make this in a square pan, without the lady finger "sides" when I need to bring it to a function. Much easier to cut and serve, and still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
This was a nice Tiramisu recipe. My husband is a tiramisu afficionado and thought this was a worthy version, except he thought the mascarpone cheese layer was a little too sweet. I'd probably reduce the sugar next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States