Emily's Famous Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
A perfect tiramisu recipe !!! I made tiramisu for the first time with this recipe and it was the perfect tiramisu. It does taste better after being refrigerated about 2-3 days. Yummylicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAVYA29

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
The ladyfingers were easy to make and turned out well. I used boxed lady fingers for the ones around the edge since they looked nicer than mine did, but the taste and texture of the homemade ones were better. I soaked the bottom layer as was suggested, and this turned out fine, although it did leak out the bottom of the springform pan a bit. I let it sit 2 days before serving, and this was fine. I thought the syrup was a bit too sweet and the ratio of cream to ladyfingers was a bit high. When I make it again, I will cut back on the sugar in the syrup to at least half and decrease the ratio of cream layer to ladyfinger layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This is a fabulous tiramisu recipe. Everyone who has tried it raves about it. The ladyfinger circles and strips are just genius. I always use Kahlua instead of rum, and I refrigerate at least 24 hours before serving. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I use boxed ladyfingers, and this is the one recipe that ALL my friends and family beg me to make over and over...in fact it's going to be the featured dessert at Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I have made this tiramisu many times. Each time I received RAVE reviews (some people are still talking about the first one I did over 2 years ago). Anyhow...the only thing I change is that I use an equal amount of Irish Cream instead of rum as I personally do not like the flavor of the rum. Aside from that, this last time that I made it, I tried what one reviewer suggested, doubling the marscapone. I would NOT recommend it. The finished product was much firmer and easier to cut (more like that of a cheesecake), but the flavor was just totally off balance. I would recommend following the ORIGINAL recipe amounts exactly, as that is the way that I received the most amount of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
After looking at several different recipes, I made this tiramisu for my boyfriend. I followed some of the suggestions, but would try a few differently next time. First, I only brushed on the syrup for the bottom layer of ladyfingers. Next time I will soak it. Also, soak the sides that are lined with the ladyfingers. Also, I doubled the cheese layer which was great! Secondly, I used only strong coffee in the syrup. Next time I am adding espresso to it to give it a stronger coffee flavor. Let it set in the fridge for 3 days...that is a definite. I also used dark rum which worked very well. In addition, I made my own ladyfingers from Roxanne's recipe and they turned out great. My boyfriend loved this tiramisu and now calls it "our special dessert."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
Excellent recipe with a bit of tweaking. Have made it a few times, so I think I've perfected on it - recipe needs a bit more cheese in the filling layer (I double it) to make it less runny. I also use 1c. powdered sugar in the filling, instead of 2c. (too sweet otherwise). For syrup, only make 1/2 of what recipe calls for - the extra is totally unnecessary. And when layering the cake, I like to shave semi-sweet chocolate in the middle as well. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This was the best Tiramisu I have ever eaten. We had a big card party with 12 people and evryone said the same thing, it was great. I will make it again for our family get together. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This was not a tiramisu, it contained too much sugar, and was too fluffy. Pretty bad! The lady finger recipe was good but the over all recipe is no where close to what the classic tiramisu is! a real dissapointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Excellent recipe - thank you! I made this for a gathering of my in-laws, and they all agreed that it was better than any restaurant tiramisu they had ever eaten. Making the ladyfingers is definitely worth the bit of extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States