Emily's Famous Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I love tiramisu, so I thought that I'd give it a go. I would recommend some changes. I made this with store bought lady fingers and would make them if you have the time. I also thought that this was WAY to sweet, so I'll cut the sugar in half all the way around next time. I had LOTS of the coffee-based syrup left which makes me wonder if most people are using all of it in the recipe. Don't do that, because it will turn out way to runny. I made this in a trifle dish and it was very pretty. Sooooo, I'll try again and post the results after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I'm amazed that there aren't more comments about the excessive sweetness of this recipe. It's a shame, because in all other respects it is an amazing dessert - the texture, the appearance, and the underlying flavors are all wonderful. But ackkk! the sugar destoys the delicate mascarpone taste; you can't even tell it's there. Next time I will do as another reviewer suggested and halve the sugar all around. BTW, I served this to Italian friends yesterday who finished it politely but certainly didn't rave or ask for seconds. Nor did my friend whose absolute favorite dessert is tiramisu. But overall, the recipe is easy and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
My daughter and I made this recipe and everyone that tried it said it was better than the one at the Italian Restaurant here in town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I didn't have time for making the lady fingers, so I bought them. This was still really wonderful. There was a lot more syrup than necessary - I ate it over ice cream. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This was my first time making this and I did not care of it too much. I followed the recipe to a T. The rum flavor was too much to handle for me. The heavy cream layer did have a nice texture and mine did not leak. Also, I didn't have enough batter for the outter circle of ladie finger. Although the lady fingers were yummy and I will use the recipe with a diff. filling recipe. I ended up buying ladyfingers for the circumfrance. If any of you live by a Polish deli I suggest the Polish ladyfingers as they are A LOT softer than the Italian ones. Look for a box that says "Biszkopty" on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Wow - This was so good and tasted like it came straight from a restaurant. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I use this recipe and it is flawless. The only thing that I don't do is the handmade lady fingers, I use Goya Lady Fingers, because they are crispy and when you soak them they become cake texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Piedras, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I've made this a couple of times to rave reviews (one guest said it was the best tiramisu he'd ever had, and the whole thing disappeared rather quickly). However, I like my cream really thick and dense, which isn't quite what you get from this recipe--doubling the amount of mascarpone cheese and reducing the heavy cream by about half seems to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is amazing. Your thighs may regret it, but your tastebuds won't. Don't you dare skimp on anything this recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This recipe is AWESOME! Totally equivalent to what you would get in a restaurant & even better! Super easy to assemble & great taste! Couldn't ask for a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States