Emily's Famous Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I fixed Emily's Tiramisu for an Italian themed dinner party. My husband who haad tiramisu at almost every restaurant we ate at in Italy thought mine was better. Will do this again. I used Meyer's Original Dark Rum for the dark rum. Based on the starbucks staff I ordered a cup of the Starbucks Verona - french pressed for the strong coffee. (I am not a coffee drinker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Very delicious. I didn't use enough liquor, but other than that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexiaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years now and it's amazing. I usually add a bit more liquor (and even add different kinds to complement the rum), and tend to use a little more mascarpone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this in a trifle dish for Christmas and it was absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I have made this twice in one week, for two different parties and everyone loved it each time. Thanks to the other raters saying it was too sweet, I had cut the sugar in HALF and it was just right. Great recipe, Emily. It's in my recipe book to make many more times. Shirley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I have made this recipe many times, and often get requests for it. I found it to be a little too sweet, so I have backed off on using a full cup of sugar in the syrup, and I use 1 cup of coffee instead of 1/2 cup to bring out a stronger flavor. Over all I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Everyone I make this for loves it. My boss said that it was better than any tiramisu he'd had in Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I love tiramisu, so I thought that I'd give it a go. I would recommend some changes. I made this with store bought lady fingers and would make them if you have the time. I also thought that this was WAY to sweet, so I'll cut the sugar in half all the way around next time. I had LOTS of the coffee-based syrup left which makes me wonder if most people are using all of it in the recipe. Don't do that, because it will turn out way to runny. I made this in a trifle dish and it was very pretty. Sooooo, I'll try again and post the results after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I'm amazed that there aren't more comments about the excessive sweetness of this recipe. It's a shame, because in all other respects it is an amazing dessert - the texture, the appearance, and the underlying flavors are all wonderful. But ackkk! the sugar destoys the delicate mascarpone taste; you can't even tell it's there. Next time I will do as another reviewer suggested and halve the sugar all around. BTW, I served this to Italian friends yesterday who finished it politely but certainly didn't rave or ask for seconds. Nor did my friend whose absolute favorite dessert is tiramisu. But overall, the recipe is easy and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
My daughter and I made this recipe and everyone that tried it said it was better than the one at the Italian Restaurant here in town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States