Emily's Famous Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Used store-bought cookies (layered them and poured the syrup on top)... used TIA MARIA instead of the RUM, used just unsweetened cocoa for the topping, reduced the sugar in syrup and filling by about 25%... still MORE than sweet enough and super yummy! thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Wow! This was a group effort with the hubby and the 5 year old, but it totally paid off. I followed the recipe to a T (almost) used godiva liquer in the syrup, and made three rounds of lady fingers for the trifle dish (no sides) had to cut them a bit to fit in the bottom of the trifle (aka the bottom is smaller than the top that you trace ;-) Next would shave the chocolate on each layer and then just a little on top for decoration. The flavor was great, maybe a little strong on the liquor. The pieces themselves were great, but the soupy stuff on the bottom shouldn't be served. After the first scoop was taken we "drained" the trifle and the rest was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This recipe was fine - I think I just prefer a more dense tiramisu and the flavor was a bit eggy. My grandfather called it "poofy" and I think that describes it perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Really good tho I cheated and bought ladyfingers from the Italian bakery. Unfortunately it was wasted on my family who didn't even know what tiramisu is. Their loss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
fantastic recipe...I got tired of chasing store bought ladyfingers. also the cake itself is prettier and more impressive looking than a square cake. I have to be honest though, I use a different filling as there are so many out there that individual tastes dictate whats best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Burke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was too sweet and didn't have enough coffee flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This recipe is truly Devine. If you are a tiramisu lover, this is the one. I was asked to make a tiramisu for an Italian themed dinner party. I loke tiramisu, but it normally isn't one of my favorit deserts. This tiramisu is definately on my list of favorites now. Making your own lady fingers is well worth it. I didn't use all of the rum as called for in the cream, but instead used a little bit of the rum and added a bit of rum extract. It was perfectly well balanced in flavor. Next time I make it though I will make extra of the lady fingers. They weren't enough of them to circle around the timamisu all the way. Thx. Emily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was quite easy for an experienced cook. I made it for Thanksgiving and my in-laws who are used to restaurant tiramisu gobbled it up. I made mine in a triffle dish and used a mocha kahlua. Tonight I used the filling recipe using Irish cream to make tiramisu cupcakes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Make sure the marscapone is good. Do no sub cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Churchill808

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I love this tiramisu. I really soak the ladysfingers to make it really moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States