Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Wonderful! The overall flavor is varied and distinct because of the added spices. To make this more "sloppy" I use 3/4 cup of porter or heinekin and 3/4 cup of water. The brown sugar gives it a light sweet taste. The onions and red peppers give it excellent texture. If you like it hot, double the chili pepper or add some Aleppo pepper. I serve it over sliced Tillamook cheddar cheese on large toasted hamburger buns. I've made this numerous times and each time I love it more and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
A nice recipe! I made some changes and used ground turkey and 3/4 cup of beer instead of water for the liquid. After simmering for 30 min or so you get a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a really good basic sloppy joe recipe. I made a couple of changes: I halved the chili powder, increased the salt to 1 tsp., and added about 1/4 c. ketchup (to give it more of a tomato-base flavor). With the chili powder and the pepper it had enough spice to satisfy without being too much! A good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This recipe would have been great if i had wanted chili...i didnt i wanted sloppy joes...This DOES NOT taste like sloppy joes...we ended up eating it like chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Ultimate to-die-for sloppy joes on a winter night. I've made this recipe for quite some time. Every time I serve it for guests, I'm always asked for the recipe. Ah....if only I could claim it! Thank you for a great recipe. Reading some reviews, sounds like there might be some taste differences going on. That being said, I would recommend playing around with the chili powder, brown sugar and garlic. My husband has had it several times with me and said tonight was one of the best. I did keep the brown sugar as is, I put in two teaspoons of chili powder for our guests (instead of three/one tablespoon) and put in tons on garlic. But then again, I'm one of those people who looked at the first initial 3 cloves of garlic and immediately doubled it! One thing I've found through the years is the way garlic is presented into a dish. I used to mince it, but found a Pampered Chef garlic press at a party I can't live without. Not only is it faster and easier than mincing, but it releases the juices of the garlic into your dishes (a tip for not only this dish, but others as well). All in all, I obviously could go on about it. I had a very particular person at my table tonight and he loved it, so I knew this was the ultimate score. Thank again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
emily...my family loves your recipe! i've been making if for a few years now and it just keeps getting better! the only thing i changed was that i used tomato sauce instead of paste and water because i didn't have any on hand. fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
Very Good Sloppy Joe Recipe!! We have been looking for a recipe to replace Manwich-I think we have found it. I will add a little more tomatoe paste and water next time-it was a little too dry. I will cut back on the sugar too, I thought it was fine but my daughter commented that it was good but too sweet. Hubby liked it and that's always a bonus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
This was very good! I did increase the vinegar a bit to balance the sugar and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe, it was easy and quick. The only difference I used tomato sauce instead of paste and left out water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
My one and only experience with sloppy joes was the awful canned stuff as a kid. My husband has been bugging for years for me to make them and since this recipe was without ketchup, I figured I'd try it! Excellent results! My husband and his brother ate the whole pan (with a small bite for me).Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States