Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I love this recipe. I make it almost once a week. The sweetness of the brown sugar makes it so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Great recipe for when your missing a can of sloppy joe starter :) I did add a little sweet BBQ sauce, as I prefer a more sweetened version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this a couple of years ago and it has become a family favourite since then. Thanks Emily, whoever you are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Definitely needed tweaking for personal taste. But, it was a great base recipe. I used less brown sugar, more vinegar, and added some worcheshire sauce. Quite good. I was panicking trying to find my envelope of Sloppy Joe mix, when it didn't appear, I was happy to find this recipe since I had all the items in my pantry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
We thought this was a very good sloppy joe recipe. Requires very few ingredients and is quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malkin17

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
We loved this! My hubby loves SJ's and he raved. I did reduce the b. sugar to 2 teaspoons and added 1/4 c ketchup and I used Hungarian Paprika. I added saute'd mushrooms and used green pepper too. I also used a 12oz can of t. paste and a 10 oz can of puree because we like our SJ's sloppier than most because we eat them opened faced on toasted w/w buns. I jazed it up with a squirt of worchestershire and a splash of cooking sherry too. It was wonderfull and I will save this and use it again, thanks Emily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Emily, I love this recipe as is! But as one tends to do, I played around with it and these are the changes I made. I used ground turkey, but would still use beef any day! I substituted 1 tablespoon of (Hungarian) paprika instead of 1 teaspoon, and I left out the cumin. That came to be by accident, but it worked out nicely. I decreased the brown sugar to 2 T and I used green pepper instead of red. I also used chicken stock/broth instead of water. I received raves both ways! Thanks for a really user friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey's Mom

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
THIS WAS GOOD AND MY ENJOYED IT BUT THE FLAVORS WERE SO MELLOW THAT IT DID NOT REALLY TASTE LIKE A SLOPPY JOE. MAYBE TINKERING WITH THE RECIPE WILL IMPROVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Who needs the canned stuff when this is soooo much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States