Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is a great Sloppy Joe recipe! Very tasty and flavorful. I have made this several times and always use ground turkey, and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Great..It is nothing like chili. It is the first sloppy jo recipe that my kids will eat. It was also good because I had everything in my pantry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
So good! I cooked it up and then put it in the crockpot. Great for a football party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Sardinia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Made this last night. The teenager and the husband both like it VERY much. GREAT Sloppy Joe's. Just watch the water - I used about half the amount called for. I also grated the red bell pepper, onion and pressed the garlic. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Triadelphia, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
My husband and two kids really liked this and we don't often have sloppy joes. I was trying to use up some leftover ingredients and this solved my problem -- I made substitutions -- I used 1/2 can of diced tomatoes and 1/4 cup catsup, rice vinegar instead of distilled white vinegar, and 1 and 1/2 roasted red peppers (from a jar) instead of the fresh red pepper. I also used 11b instead of 1.5 lbs of ground beef. I simmered it for a good 1/2 hour until it wasn't runny and the flavors came together really nicely. We really liked this recipe, though I think the version I made was probably a little heavier on the vegetables, lighter on the meat. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Delicious! I started making these a couple years ago, when we got tired of the sloppy joe recipes with ketchup. When we need a quick, no-brainer meal on a busy day, I often to resort to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I've made this recipe many times and my family LOVES it!! To make this as easy as grabbing a can of Manwich, I make "spice packets" using snack-size zip lock bags and filling with garlic powder (instead of fresh), chili powder, paprika, cumin, brown sugar, oregano, salt, and pepper. I make about 6 of these at time while all the spices are out. I also stock the pantry with 6 cans of tomato paste. Then, when I need a quick supper, I buy 1.5# hamburger or ground turkey, brown it up, add tomato paste, water, vinegar, and a "spice packet". Sometimes, I brown the meat and stick it in the freezer to have on hand. This is a super recipe and healthier than grabbing a can of Manwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Easily the worst sloppy joe recipe I have ever tried. Very bland. One slight step up from plain ground beef on a bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Ultimate to-die-for sloppy joes on a winter night. I've made this recipe for quite some time. Every time I serve it for guests, I'm always asked for the recipe. Ah....if only I could claim it! Thank you for a great recipe. Reading some reviews, sounds like there might be some taste differences going on. That being said, I would recommend playing around with the chili powder, brown sugar and garlic. My husband has had it several times with me and said tonight was one of the best. I did keep the brown sugar as is, I put in two teaspoons of chili powder for our guests (instead of three/one tablespoon) and put in tons on garlic. But then again, I'm one of those people who looked at the first initial 3 cloves of garlic and immediately doubled it! One thing I've found through the years is the way garlic is presented into a dish. I used to mince it, but found a Pampered Chef garlic press at a party I can't live without. Not only is it faster and easier than mincing, but it releases the juices of the garlic into your dishes (a tip for not only this dish, but others as well). All in all, I obviously could go on about it. I had a very particular person at my table tonight and he loved it, so I knew this was the ultimate score. Thank again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Not very good. Way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States