Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
My son would eat this every day if I let him! Found this recipe over a year ago, and if we have ground beef or turkey in the house (I've even make it with 3 grain tempeh) he get's mad if I make something else. I increase the vinegar and cut back a bit on the cumin and oregano, but that's just my taste. Sometimes I have to add more tomato paste and water, or tomato sauce depending on how moist the meat is. We all love it, and it NEVER lasts! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
The best after a few little changes...beer instead of water (I used Heineken), more tomato paste, half sugar, a half measure more of the spices, cider vinegar instead of white, and softened the onions and peppers before adding to beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Go Emily! This doesn't come close to chili, whoever that moron is that said so. It does have a great sweetness and light and zesty kick. We made a double recipe and added some beer also. Serving on toasted buns with Cottage Fries and Homemade Bowtie Pasta Salad. Let's Eat! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is a great Sloppy Joe recipe! Very tasty and flavorful. I have made this several times and always use ground turkey, and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Great..It is nothing like chili. It is the first sloppy jo recipe that my kids will eat. It was also good because I had everything in my pantry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
So good! I cooked it up and then put it in the crockpot. Great for a football party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Sardinia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Made this last night. The teenager and the husband both like it VERY much. GREAT Sloppy Joe's. Just watch the water - I used about half the amount called for. I also grated the red bell pepper, onion and pressed the garlic. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Triadelphia, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
My husband and two kids really liked this and we don't often have sloppy joes. I was trying to use up some leftover ingredients and this solved my problem -- I made substitutions -- I used 1/2 can of diced tomatoes and 1/4 cup catsup, rice vinegar instead of distilled white vinegar, and 1 and 1/2 roasted red peppers (from a jar) instead of the fresh red pepper. I also used 11b instead of 1.5 lbs of ground beef. I simmered it for a good 1/2 hour until it wasn't runny and the flavors came together really nicely. We really liked this recipe, though I think the version I made was probably a little heavier on the vegetables, lighter on the meat. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Delicious! I started making these a couple years ago, when we got tired of the sloppy joe recipes with ketchup. When we need a quick, no-brainer meal on a busy day, I often to resort to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I've made this recipe many times and my family LOVES it!! To make this as easy as grabbing a can of Manwich, I make "spice packets" using snack-size zip lock bags and filling with garlic powder (instead of fresh), chili powder, paprika, cumin, brown sugar, oregano, salt, and pepper. I make about 6 of these at time while all the spices are out. I also stock the pantry with 6 cans of tomato paste. Then, when I need a quick supper, I buy 1.5# hamburger or ground turkey, brown it up, add tomato paste, water, vinegar, and a "spice packet". Sometimes, I brown the meat and stick it in the freezer to have on hand. This is a super recipe and healthier than grabbing a can of Manwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States