Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Family away this week so thought I'd try something new. This was a treat and very tasty. 3 small changes I added a poblano chili with the red pepper, smoked red paprika instead of cumin - not a cumin fan and I added 1/2 tsp of liquid smoke. Will definitely serve this again perhaps for our next Friday evening get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Good Saturday sloppy joes. Made it today. Had it on toasted slimwiches bread. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
So much better than the bottled kind! Only thing I did different was to add garlic powder to the browned meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was so good! The comment about this tasting like chili worried me a little, but it doesn't taste like chili to me! I love it! Used green pepper instead of red. I used 1 lb. of ground beef, so I tried to just use 2/3 of each ingredient - I'm sure I didn't get everything right exactly, but it is still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Nice little recipe! I was in a huge hurry tho, so I left out the cumin and Chili pepper bc they were at the back of the spice shelf, lol. I halved the water & added a 1/4 c. of molasses bc I like it sweet. Next time, I'll do it right, but it was very good this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Love this recipe! The only changes I made was to use ground turkey instead of beef to make it more on the healthy side. Honestly, it tasted the same as using ground beef. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynLee327

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Maine, USA
Living In: Glenburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I am commenting on this recipe because it's so similar to how I make my Joes that I feel I don't need to practically duplicate this by adding my own. My differences were to add some chopped celery, I didn't use the cumin or garlic, and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 tbsp. Most of the rest of the ingredients were close enough for me to feel sure that they would replicate what would have been used in the school cafeteria where I first fell in love with sloppy joes! The tomato paste is something I'm sure they would have used in a school kitchen to prepare so many servings. Ketchup would have been too expensive and the ketchup based sauces that I've tried, taste too much like ketchup and that flavor is not what I remembered from my first taste experience. The tomato paste along with the brown sugar, the chili powder and a little vinegar gave the sauce the basic flavor profile I was looking for. The rest of the additions can vary to suit anyones ideal. Thanks for this, it's perfect at it's heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Fast, tasty and a hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Both my fiance and I did not care for these at all. I defrosted 1 lb. of ground turkey this past weekend (intending to make these then), so I used that instead of the 1.5 lb. of beef called for (the missing 1/2 lb. didn't make a difference, IMHO). I pre-chopped my veggies too, so prep was extremely quick. If it weren't for these being too sweet, I might have awarded one more star. And boy are these S-W-E-E-T!!! Emily's recipe reminds me of sweet & sour beef (hmmm...). In all fairness, I didn't try any of the top reviewer's suggestions for improvement, so I can't be too critical.... I definitely think I could have used more liquid (doubling and replacing water w/ beer would have helped with that). My only other change was to top fresh kaiser rolls w/ a lg. heap of meat, sprinkle w/ shredded cheddar & then spread the "tops" w/ a generous slathering of softened butter (1 stick), smoked paprika (1/2 t) & garlic salt (1 t worth - my butter was unsalted, or else I would have used garlic powder). I wrapped ea. sandwich tightly w/ a double-thickness of aluminum foil & baked at 350 deg. for 30 min. My sandwich tops were nice & toasty (mmmm...)! My MIL "to be" does this when she makes her stromboli samies, so I thought I'd try w/ this too (why not???). For a quick, economical meal, I can't complain, but unfortunately I won't be repeating this again (my fiance might disown me - haha!). Thanks anyways. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Add some cheese slices (American or Provolone) - adds a creaminess to the sandwich! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Liles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States