Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this a couple of years ago and it has become a family favourite since then. Thanks Emily, whoever you are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Definitely needed tweaking for personal taste. But, it was a great base recipe. I used less brown sugar, more vinegar, and added some worcheshire sauce. Quite good. I was panicking trying to find my envelope of Sloppy Joe mix, when it didn't appear, I was happy to find this recipe since I had all the items in my pantry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
We thought this was a very good sloppy joe recipe. Requires very few ingredients and is quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malkin17

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
We loved this! My hubby loves SJ's and he raved. I did reduce the b. sugar to 2 teaspoons and added 1/4 c ketchup and I used Hungarian Paprika. I added saute'd mushrooms and used green pepper too. I also used a 12oz can of t. paste and a 10 oz can of puree because we like our SJ's sloppier than most because we eat them opened faced on toasted w/w buns. I jazed it up with a squirt of worchestershire and a splash of cooking sherry too. It was wonderfull and I will save this and use it again, thanks Emily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Emily, I love this recipe as is! But as one tends to do, I played around with it and these are the changes I made. I used ground turkey, but would still use beef any day! I substituted 1 tablespoon of (Hungarian) paprika instead of 1 teaspoon, and I left out the cumin. That came to be by accident, but it worked out nicely. I decreased the brown sugar to 2 T and I used green pepper instead of red. I also used chicken stock/broth instead of water. I received raves both ways! Thanks for a really user friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey's Mom

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
THIS WAS GOOD AND MY ENJOYED IT BUT THE FLAVORS WERE SO MELLOW THAT IT DID NOT REALLY TASTE LIKE A SLOPPY JOE. MAYBE TINKERING WITH THE RECIPE WILL IMPROVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Who needs the canned stuff when this is soooo much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Terrible it took me an additional 45 minutes to even get it close to tasting like sloppy joes. Way to sweet, too much brown sugar. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This is my first review! I couldn't keep quiet about this one. This recipe is AWESOME! I am always happier making something from scratch than from a can. These are the best sloppy joes I've ever eaten! My picky preschoolers even ate them, which is a miracle in itself. I followed the recipe to a "T" and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States