Emily's Famous Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This popcorn is a very very delicious, savory snack. For those of you who are not familiar with nutritional yeast, it tastes similar to parmesan cheese and it is very healthy, low-fat, and it has lots of amino acids. It can be found in natural food stores or health stores. I used air-popped popcorn, cut the amount of margarine in half, and it still tasted fabulous! So quick and easy to make. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
We make this popcorn with Butter, Nutritional Yeast, Season Salt & Parmesean. It's sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is a great twist on the way I have seasoned popcorn for years. I picked up a great trick years ago that makes it even better. Heat the oil and popcorn together until the first kernel pops. Take the pan off the heat and stir in 2-4 Tbsp. of dairy-free margarine. As soon as the margarine melts put the lid on and put the pan back on the heat. Shake frequently. The buttery flavor will be evenly spread over the popcorn, and the popcorn will pop up large with fewer "old maids".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I love this combination! I have used yeast flakes before, but never have put cumin or chili powder on popcorn before. This will definitely be made again :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This has become a favorite. I haven't tried the yeast yet. It is fine with the parm. Will get some yeast soon. I use my micro popper and a buttry spray for the butter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
well I'm surprised to say I actually really enjoyed that! Certainly different and not something I would make all the time, but it was nice for a change. I made it in an air popper and then added the butter at the end (no oil). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Really enjoyed this popcorn. Popped up just a half a cup in my air popper and used parmesan cheese in place of the yeast. Next time I may mix some hot sauce in with the butter for some heat. Good stuff. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I make this all the time! This is the best popcorn ever! I don't use the butter, and the spices stick just fine from the oil it was popped in. This is such a better alternative to microwave popcorn! Sometimes I add tumeric as well, and today I just added some chipotle powder for a little kick, but the cumin and nutritional yeast (so creamy) are what make it the greatest for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This recipe is good without the nutritional yeast. Most people want some butter/marg on popcorn - it's a taste that is hard to replicate. Nothing tastes like fat but fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Pretty darn good. I did not opt for butter, thinking that the oil alone would hold the seasonings to the popcorn - much of the toppings did end up at the bottom of the kettle, but were again on top when I poured the popcorn into a bowl. Next time, I will spray some Bragg's on before adding the seasonings and then exclude the salt. I'm surprised that my 3 year old liked this popcorn, it wasn't too spicy for her. This popcorn is so rich in flavor that you may find that you don't need to eat a lot of it to feel satisfied. Update: I now make this with air popped popcorn - use Bragg's Liquid Aminos to stick the dry ingredients to the popcorn, leave out the salt and *presto* a dieter's delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States