Emily's Famous Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This popcorn is a very very delicious, savory snack. For those of you who are not familiar with nutritional yeast, it tastes similar to parmesan cheese and it is very healthy, low-fat, and it has lots of amino acids. It can be found in natural food stores or health stores. I used air-popped popcorn, cut the amount of margarine in half, and it still tasted fabulous! So quick and easy to make. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is a great twist on the way I have seasoned popcorn for years. I picked up a great trick years ago that makes it even better. Heat the oil and popcorn together until the first kernel pops. Take the pan off the heat and stir in 2-4 Tbsp. of dairy-free margarine. As soon as the margarine melts put the lid on and put the pan back on the heat. Shake frequently. The buttery flavor will be evenly spread over the popcorn, and the popcorn will pop up large with fewer "old maids".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Pretty darn good. I did not opt for butter, thinking that the oil alone would hold the seasonings to the popcorn - much of the toppings did end up at the bottom of the kettle, but were again on top when I poured the popcorn into a bowl. Next time, I will spray some Bragg's on before adding the seasonings and then exclude the salt. I'm surprised that my 3 year old liked this popcorn, it wasn't too spicy for her. This popcorn is so rich in flavor that you may find that you don't need to eat a lot of it to feel satisfied. Update: I now make this with air popped popcorn - use Bragg's Liquid Aminos to stick the dry ingredients to the popcorn, leave out the salt and *presto* a dieter's delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
We make this popcorn with Butter, Nutritional Yeast, Season Salt & Parmesean. It's sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was off the charts yummy. I used EVOO instead of vegetable oil only because that was what I had and I did not use the butter only because I'm watching my calorie intake. I also added onion/garlic powder. Even my microwave popcorn loving kids flipped for this. This was just SO good. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I make this all the time! This is the best popcorn ever! I don't use the butter, and the spices stick just fine from the oil it was popped in. This is such a better alternative to microwave popcorn! Sometimes I add tumeric as well, and today I just added some chipotle powder for a little kick, but the cumin and nutritional yeast (so creamy) are what make it the greatest for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Really enjoyed this popcorn. Popped up just a half a cup in my air popper and used parmesan cheese in place of the yeast. Next time I may mix some hot sauce in with the butter for some heat. Good stuff. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I don't think I've ever had popcorn that's tasted better; drizzled with olive oil, then added topping. Mix well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Quite good. I was a little skeptical at first - Mexican popcorn? - but it doesn't really taste the way I expected. I guess that's the nutritional yeast working its magic. I used air-popped popcorn and half the butter, and it turned out fine. Next time I think I'll add some cayenne for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Great flavors but I made it exactly as listed and the spices were too much for me (yeast in the bottom of the bowl). I cut the butter to 3T and spices to 1/2t each and nutritional yeast to 1T. My kids and I thought it was perfect this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States