Emily's Famous Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Ok - I was raised on popcorn as an every night treat. I love the stuff. This recipe adds flavors I'd never considered with popcorn. I was already using nutritional yeast and substituting coconut oil for the butter while cooking the popcorn (delicious!!) but the additional savory-ness of the cumin and chili powder? Yum, Yum, Yum! I mixed the yeast/spices/salt in a separate container and sprinkled on as much as I wanted. Still have some left for the next batch. If you're hesitating...just try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is always good. Changed it up a bit and added onion and garlic powder and salt (after reading reviews). Also used a combo of coconut oil, butter and veg oil. I did drizzle the melted butter. The nutritional yeast really makes it delicious (and healthy too!). Then you can add your seasoning preferences. Great recipe! UPDATE 4/26/15: Sprinkled popcorn with salt and ground pepper (as a reviewer stated) as well as the nutritional yeast. Still cooked in coconut oil and drizzled with butter. Sometimes you just don't want the cumin/chili flavors. This was excellent this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
OMG!! - cheesy flavor without the cheese are you kidding me!..where has this recipe been all my life. Next time I will make this with coconut oil as a replacement for the butter. Anyone who has cooked with coconut oil before knows it has a very similar flavor profile as butter. The coconut oil as a replacement will make this completely vegan too and I think will be enjoyed by all...these types of recipes are nice to have when you have a mixed crowd of people coming over (ie. meat eaters, vegetarians, and vegans). By the way, I had this for dinner because I had no time to cook. I quartered the recipe and just seasoned it by taste, no measuring was involved. Oh and I used onion powder and cayenne pepper instead of chili powder, because there is no Chili powder where I live in Costa Rica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Mindock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made air popped popcorn that I drizzled lightly with light-taste olive oil. I didn't use the chili powder or cumin because I wasn't in the mood for those flavors. Instead, hit the popcorn with a small dash of table salt, then a bunch of freshly cracked pepper and the nutritional yeast. I can't imagine anyone not liking this - it actually reminds me of mac & cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori likes to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nome, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Made popcorn per recipe. Very good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
was good, i really liked not everyone at party did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I never thought healthy popcorn could taste so good. It's almost like eating barbeque chips without the guilt. Brewer's yeast is always a great add-on. This is the only way, besides tomato-based soups, that we have found brewer's yeast to even be mildly palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
YUM. This stuff is addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Awesome! I'm going to try this with pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I don't think I've ever had popcorn that's tasted better; drizzled with olive oil, then added topping. Mix well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Cauliflower Popcorn

Roasted cauliflower florets lightly seasoned with olive oil and garlic salt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States