Emily's Famous Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
well I'm surprised to say I actually really enjoyed that! Certainly different and not something I would make all the time, but it was nice for a change. I made it in an air popper and then added the butter at the end (no oil). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I love this combination! I have used yeast flakes before, but never have put cumin or chili powder on popcorn before. This will definitely be made again :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This was good, but what we especially liked was the nutritional yeast--we now always put this on our popcorn in addition to butter and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Great flavors but I made it exactly as listed and the spices were too much for me (yeast in the bottom of the bowl). I cut the butter to 3T and spices to 1/2t each and nutritional yeast to 1T. My kids and I thought it was perfect this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I was glad to try this recipe becauce I've been wanting to use nutritional yeast. I just didn't care too much for the cumin. My neighbors loved it, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
The taste was okay, though it didn't do too much for me. The other problem is that all that yeast, chili powder and cumin ended up on my fingers. Argh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Sorry, I just didn't like it. It had a wierd flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This recipe is good without the nutritional yeast. Most people want some butter/marg on popcorn - it's a taste that is hard to replicate. Nothing tastes like fat but fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is a great twist on the way I have seasoned popcorn for years. I picked up a great trick years ago that makes it even better. Heat the oil and popcorn together until the first kernel pops. Take the pan off the heat and stir in 2-4 Tbsp. of dairy-free margarine. As soon as the margarine melts put the lid on and put the pan back on the heat. Shake frequently. The buttery flavor will be evenly spread over the popcorn, and the popcorn will pop up large with fewer "old maids".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I make this all the time! This is the best popcorn ever! I don't use the butter, and the spices stick just fine from the oil it was popped in. This is such a better alternative to microwave popcorn! Sometimes I add tumeric as well, and today I just added some chipotle powder for a little kick, but the cumin and nutritional yeast (so creamy) are what make it the greatest for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States