Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Simple tip: use mini muffin pan or ice cube trays dusted with powdered sugar to mold Marshmallows, when firm they plop right out with no cutting needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I ended up using this before my marshmallows were set, because I only needed it for a review I had been making. it made quite a bit more creme than I expected, but I won't complain lol this was so simple and fantastic taste! will definitely be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I was pleased--I cook and bake a lot, but candy is an area I mess up a lot. So I kind of expected a disaster. But they turned out like I imagine they were supposed to. I guess it's not something I would do very often, as they're not THAT special, but for an occasional novelty item, they're good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I tried this recipe as a first foray into candy making. The results were very good and my family really enjoyed the marshmallows. I used 1/2 tsp peppermint extract instead of vanilla. This was added when beating the final mixture. I found some tips in the reviews helpful: - Do the egg whites first, then the gelatin, then the sugar mixture. - Use a pizza cutter to cut the finished product - Use a stand mixer if you have one - I lined the pan with plastic wrap coated with non-stick spray. The marshmallows fell right out. - Using a mixture of 1 part powdered sugar and 1 part cornstarch to coat the marshmallows eliminates stickiness. I found the comments about the sugar mixture foaming up when the gelatin is added to be exaggerated somewhat. It does foam up but only for a moment. A medium saucepan is fine. Use caution when beating the final mixture, if it gets too stiff it becomes difficult to pour and spread in the pan. It did spread but the tops of my marshmallows were "mountainous" instead of smooth. Next time I will pour into pan when the mixture still drips slowly from the beater blade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Really hard to make. I had to make it twice for it to work. If you egg whites aren't REALLY white after beating, than keep beating. This is the mistake that I made and in the end, my marshmallows came out liqudey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made 3 double batches of this recipe (mind you, following the tips of using a large pan for cooking the sugar mixture then adding the gelatin mixture in slowly and using my kitchenade mixer to do the mixing..... Big help). I made regular first (turned out perfect and SO GOOD), caramel 2nd which I only did because I goofed and didn't double the gelatin, used a 1/4 cup less water in the sugar mixture and cooked the sugar mixture on to high of a temp - all by accident. It had a caramelized flavor going on due to my mistakes and so I added some caramel extract and went with it. Besides the huge mess the sugar/gelatin mixture made when going into the egg whites due to it hardening as I poured it and so it didn't make the marshmallow fluff like combo the first batch did, they still turned out good. They were much more dense than the light and fluffy 1st batch. The last batch went fine. I only had 6 tablespoons of gelatin left and so that is what I used in the last doubled batch. I added mint extract and green food coloring. The also turned out great. All 3 had wonderful flavor. I will be making them again and will try experimenting with other flavors too. I would stick with the exact measurements recommended in the recipe after all this. They really did turn out the best. One other tip.... Lined my pan with wax paper and then put the powder sugar all around it. That made it very easy to pull the marshmallows out and place on a cutting board to slice into squares. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Erickson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I loved this recipe and is the BEST tasting marshmellow I've done! I like adding flavors to my recipe is I tried this one with a little raspberry flavoring. It was so delicious and was the perfect shade of light pink for valentines day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Cool recipe, but when it was cooling there was some kind of separation between the gelatin and the marshmallow. I'm not sure if it was me or the recipe, but it tasted great anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red LoRusso

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Love the taste, but there are a few more things people should know before they start cooking: For step 4 (whipping the egg whites & then all ingredients): If you have it, use a stand mixer instead of a hand mixer. It will be somewhat easier to control pouring the syrup into the egg whites. I never got to a "stiff" peak, but the mixture did get gelatinous anyway. For step 3, the last sentence (combine gelatin mix & syrup): Plan to place the container in a place easy to clean up BEFORE combining, because it may bubble over the container & cleaning up strings of sugar/gelatin from all surfaces is horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I was looking for a way to show off my new stand mixer, and this was it! One of the reasons I love AllRecipes is for the reviews, so thank you to everyone who shared tips like using a larger pan. I am a novice cook, so I truly appreciate advice like that. These turned out beautifully. I made graham crackers to go with them, and everyone at work gets a truly homemade s'more tomorrow. Thanks for the recipe and the reviews, y'all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States