Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
I love this recipe! We used kosher gelatin. It was so good to finally have kosher marshmallows so the kids could enjoy smores around the campfire. All our friends abandoned their storebought jet-puff marshmallows to try ours, they loved them too. Fun to make, easy to clean up and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
This is the best recipe for Easter! I made them and took them to a party, when I came back they were gone in about 2 minutes. I was very suprised! Afterward when everyone found out that I made them I was asked by at least 20 or 30 people for the recipe! I will definatly use this recipe again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Wonderful recipe! A little messy but way worth the time. I suggest four indispensable tools to tackle this recipe: a medium to large non-stick saucepan, a candy thermometer, a non-stick silicone-coated spoon or spatula and a good standing-electric mixer. I used a decent 3-quart non-stick saucepan to heat the simple syrup mixture. It worked wonders, especially after adding the softened gelatin. The cooled substance causes the syrup to foam substantially. The larger saucepan accomodated well. (Hint: a package of unflavored gelatin equals the amount needed for the recipe.) The trick to keeping the syrup and gelatin from separating is to mix it thoroughly before setting it aside. My 5-quart KitchenAid helped to whip the whites into the beautiful marshmallow fluff. Won't say it can't be done with a hand mixer, but I'd try half a batch at a time and recruit another set of hands to help pour the syrup/gelatin mixture into the soft-peaked egg whites. I just recently learned what a See's Candies Scotch Kiss is (marshmallow wrapped in soft caramel). This recipe produces marshmallows quite similar in texture and taste (soft/light and not too sweet). I used the Caramels by Barbara recipe to envelope the marshmallows. YUM! I WILL make these for Christmas!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTHACROCKER13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
these were absolutely delicious...a little sticky but fun to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I don't know why some people have experienced so many problems with this recipe. The only thing I can think of is that marshmallow is a candy and must be made on a dry day. Nor should they be made while anything is producing steam on the stove (makes the kitchen humid). I used this recipe and the marshmallows were perfect. People could not believe I had done this myself. Very, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I tried this recipe for the very first time last week and it was a great success. It came out perfect and I am so pleased with the results including taste. Honestly this is fail proof !! Very easy !!! Even a Monkey can do this !! I will do this more often fr now on Evelyn Of Elk Grove, CA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
A very thoughtful friend gave me a box of handcut marshmallows from Williams-Sonoma this past December since she know's I'm a marshmallow addict. I went to reorder them from the W-S website but hesitated when I saw the price. Of course, I checked out All-Recipes and found Emily's recipe. Well, I tried it right away and have to say I wouldn't change a thing. These were easy, taste wonderful (use REAL vanilla!) and very impressive for a minimal amount of work. Not only do I love them and the oos and aahs I get from my adult friends, but my 7 and 8 year-old both love them and have their friends jealous and asking for them whenever they come over to play. Way to go Emily....this one's a keeper~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Okay all you Mounds Bar lovers, here's a fun tip with your homemade marshmallows. Allow your marshmallows to "age" for 24 hours. Make sure they are nicely coated on all sides with powered sugar (shake of excess). You'll need a cup each of chocolate chips and flaked sweetened coconut. Melt some dark chocolate chips (about a cup for 1 minute on high in microwave, stir, and heat a few seconds longer if chips aren't melting when stirred.) Take a cookie sheet and cover with waxed paper, set aside. Take one marshmallow, and with the slightly cooled chocolate spread all sides except the bottom. A small spoon works fine for this. Set this on the lined cookie sheet and immediately sprinkle and pat coconut on all the chocolate covered surfaces. Do the same with the remaining chocolate and coconut. Let these sit for a couple of hours for chocolate to "set up". This only makes about 6 (I cut my marshmallows into 2 inch squares prior to all of this). Just repeat the process if you want more. Work in small batches to keep the chocolate at the right temperature. These are fabulous alone or served on top of a hot brownie and a scoop of vanilla ice cream. So easy, and so incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINE PERKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
These are the best!! This recipe is a lifesaver for our family. We cannot have food dye in our diet, and there are no longer commercially available bags of marshmallow without blue dye. I will be trying them out with a rice crispy treat recipe next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Great recipe! I had never made marshmallows before, but these weren't hard at all. One tip: when you cut them, keep rinsing your knife with hot water.. helps to keep them from sticking to the knife. Would recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States