Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
What they didn't tell you is that when you whisk the syrup and gelatin together, use a big bowl! It said use a small saucepan for the syrup and a small bowl to warm the gelatin and then whisk together when it was time. What they don't tell you is that it explodes!! For the first time candy maker, this would have been a helpful hint. I'll definitly try this recipe again, because I really want to learn to make marshmallows, but I'll wait till another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
373 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Wonderful recipe! A little messy but way worth the time. I suggest four indispensable tools to tackle this recipe: a medium to large non-stick saucepan, a candy thermometer, a non-stick silicone-coated spoon or spatula and a good standing-electric mixer. I used a decent 3-quart non-stick saucepan to heat the simple syrup mixture. It worked wonders, especially after adding the softened gelatin. The cooled substance causes the syrup to foam substantially. The larger saucepan accomodated well. (Hint: a package of unflavored gelatin equals the amount needed for the recipe.) The trick to keeping the syrup and gelatin from separating is to mix it thoroughly before setting it aside. My 5-quart KitchenAid helped to whip the whites into the beautiful marshmallow fluff. Won't say it can't be done with a hand mixer, but I'd try half a batch at a time and recruit another set of hands to help pour the syrup/gelatin mixture into the soft-peaked egg whites. I just recently learned what a See's Candies Scotch Kiss is (marshmallow wrapped in soft caramel). This recipe produces marshmallows quite similar in texture and taste (soft/light and not too sweet). I used the Caramels by Barbara recipe to envelope the marshmallows. YUM! I WILL make these for Christmas!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTHACROCKER13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
The flavor of this recipe is worth 5 stars but the instructions are worth 2-3 stars... Thank goodness for some other reviews. I hope the following details are helpful for others. It is easy when you break it down – Start with the sugar mixture. While the sugar is boiling to temperature, then work on the gelatin. While the gelatin melts, then work on the egg whites. Don’t forget to check the sugar syrup intermittently since once it reaches 245, it will quickly go to 260. Also this is much easier to do in a stand mixer than with a hand mixer. The amount of “fluff” is a lot. *Sugar syrup – Use a large saucepan or small stock pot. It will make it easier to add the gelatin mixture later. It takes about 15 minutes to get the syrup to temperature over medium/medium-high heat. *Blooming the gelatin - Put 3/4 cup of COLD water in a small saucepan and sprinkle each tablespoon (or envelope) of gelatin over the water slowly in an even layer. Let rest for 3-5 minutes. Place the saucepan over low heat and stir until the gelatin mixture is totally liquid. Keep over low heat if this liquefies before the syrup is ready. *Egg whites – Once gelatin is liquid, put whites in bowl Beat until soft peaks form. Turn off mixer while finishing the sugar-gelatin mixture. Turn the mixer back on to low speed before adding the sugar mixture in a steady stream. (It may be easier to transfer the sugar-gelatin mixture to a large measuring cup before beginning to pour. I have an 8-cup one tha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
My sister and I decided to make this recipe to see what all the hype was with homemade marshmallows. We planned on making it strictly according to the recipe, but once we realized how involved it was (for marshmallows, anyway), we decided to skip the vanilla and go with the peppermint and red food coloring idea. The results were fantastic. Now we wonder why they don't sell peppermint marshmallows in the store. It tastes great by itself or with hot chocolate or a latte. I did use a large bowl when mixing the syrup and gelatin (the other reviewers were right-it really does explode like a science experiment!) And the hot water really does help with cutting and clean up. This recipe, in peppermint form, is a keeper. Too much trouble in the regular version, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by confectionary concoctions
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING! These tase exactly like Peeps! Instead of putting the marshmallows in a pan, I put the pixture into a plastic bag, cut a hole in the corner and piped out different shapes. It was so much fun! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by confectionary concoctions

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was soooo fun!! I will note that when you combine the sugar mixture with the gelatin, it explands quite a bit. Just make sure your pan is large enough for that. I added 3/4 tsp of peppermint extract to the sugar mixture after mixing with the gelatin. I also added a swirl of red food coloring at the end, and a few crushed peppermints to the top. I cut these and put them into clear bags and gave as gifts with cocoa. Beautiful presentation for the holidays or Valentine's Day, yummy recipe! I will agree with some of the others that the cutting was quite labor intensive...and messy, messy. Use powdered sugar and a warm knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
The final product is wonderful...especially if instead of vanilla you add peppermint extract, or caramel flavoring. I have only one complaint the recipe didn't warn us that when you add the warm gelatin mixture to the hot sugar mixture it GROWS ALOT. Do NOT use a small saucepan or you'll be scraping sugar boogers off of everything when the pan bubbles over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This will be our second year in a row to make this recipe (a holiday treat!). If peppermint extract is substituted for vanilla extract, and if a tiny bit of red food coloring is swirled through the mixture with a butter knife before it sets, a delightful and colorful result ensues, perfect for dressing up a hot cocoa for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
I love this recipe! We used kosher gelatin. It was so good to finally have kosher marshmallows so the kids could enjoy smores around the campfire. All our friends abandoned their storebought jet-puff marshmallows to try ours, they loved them too. Fun to make, easy to clean up and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
This is the best recipe for Easter! I made them and took them to a party, when I came back they were gone in about 2 minutes. I was very suprised! Afterward when everyone found out that I made them I was asked by at least 20 or 30 people for the recipe! I will definatly use this recipe again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States