Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
This is the best recipe for Easter! I made them and took them to a party, when I came back they were gone in about 2 minutes. I was very suprised! Afterward when everyone found out that I made them I was asked by at least 20 or 30 people for the recipe! I will definatly use this recipe again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I used a mixture of toasted coconut and confectioner's sugar to coat the marshmallows - very tasty! Be careful when adding the gelatin mixture to the hot syrup mixture. I must have added it too quickly (in too small a pot) because the whole thing started to overflow. Next time, I'd do this part over the sink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
I love this recipe! We used kosher gelatin. It was so good to finally have kosher marshmallows so the kids could enjoy smores around the campfire. All our friends abandoned their storebought jet-puff marshmallows to try ours, they loved them too. Fun to make, easy to clean up and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
this recipe was just horrible. the ggs white separated from the gelatin and i had clear at the bottom and white meringue on the top. took a bite of it and the consistency and taste was disgusting. i'm done trying to make marshmallows. too much work and not that great. i don't know how the previous reviewers did it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREAKFASTBELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I did not care for this recipe at all. The gelatin doesn't mix in with the egg whites, and it leaves the marshmallow in chunks. We tried to make easter chicks out of them, and they wouldn't shape. The sugar wouldn't even stick to them. We almost ruined our mixer trying to make them the stuff got so hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
these were absolutely delicious...a little sticky but fun to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I don't know why some people have experienced so many problems with this recipe. The only thing I can think of is that marshmallow is a candy and must be made on a dry day. Nor should they be made while anything is producing steam on the stove (makes the kitchen humid). I used this recipe and the marshmallows were perfect. People could not believe I had done this myself. Very, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This was a simple but time consuming recipe. Marshmallows are almost impossible to find in Holland so I didn't have a choice but to make them. It really impressed my American friends and taste just like the real thing. Next time I will have to work on the presentation though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaigeCentral

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Oegstgeest, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I tried this recipe for the very first time last week and it was a great success. It came out perfect and I am so pleased with the results including taste. Honestly this is fail proof !! Very easy !!! Even a Monkey can do this !! I will do this more often fr now on Evelyn Of Elk Grove, CA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
A very thoughtful friend gave me a box of handcut marshmallows from Williams-Sonoma this past December since she know's I'm a marshmallow addict. I went to reorder them from the W-S website but hesitated when I saw the price. Of course, I checked out All-Recipes and found Emily's recipe. Well, I tried it right away and have to say I wouldn't change a thing. These were easy, taste wonderful (use REAL vanilla!) and very impressive for a minimal amount of work. Not only do I love them and the oos and aahs I get from my adult friends, but my 7 and 8 year-old both love them and have their friends jealous and asking for them whenever they come over to play. Way to go Emily....this one's a keeper~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States