Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Just tried this recipe for the first time, for my stepchildren, who are vegetarian, but who are dying to try marshmallows.I used vegan gelatin instead (couldn't find agar agar anywhere; I bought "Natural Desserts' unflavored jel dessert"). I had read all the previous reviews, and i took a reviewer's idea to take the steps backwards -preparing the eggs first, then the gelatin, then the syrup, and when that was done, mix with the gelatin, and finish by adding that to the eggs. Worked like a charm. I was disappointed though, at the last step, to NOT see the whole thing "exploding", "expanding", etc... like others have. I had prepared myself for it (used my big KitchenAid bowl for it), and was expected to see it, but it didn't happen. So I wonder if i've done something wrong (I did follow the recipe exactly; the only thing different was the vegan gelatin, so , maybe that changed something? Anyways, at least i didn't have any mess to clean up! :D Right now the marshmallows are still resting. I did taste some off the spatula that i used for spreading the "paste" into the dish, and it tasted really fine, really like a marshmallow that you let melt in your mouth. I'm still waiting to see them dried though. About the drying process, has anyone tried putting them in a warm oven? I was wondering whether that would help or not... PS: it's been 8 hours, and there's a crust on top, but underneath, it's still marshmallow mush... :( Is it linked to the vegan gelatin? To the "non-exploding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolatePanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Fantastic! Used simple hand mixer and did not have a thermometer so I dropped a bit off the spoon into cold water and when it hits the bottom use your finger and move the syrup mixture a bit to see if it forms a firm ball. Use big bowl for the egg as you will be combining the syrup and gelatin mixture into it and you will be mixing it so it will need the room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This Recipe is GREAT! A word of advice though. If you don't want the simple syrup and gel to foam everywhere, wisk in a tiny bit of the gelitin until the foam disappears THEN wisk in the rest. NO MESS! I added 2 tsp of vanilla for extra pop. The family loved them. With everything in front of you in the store you get the idea that homemade is hard but they are not, I dont think I'll be buying Marshmallows again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
These didn't last for even an hour! I dusted them in cinnamin and sugar after cooled. I took the other half and dunked them in melted caramel...wow...these are to die for!! Whenever making candy you have to make sure your sugar is dissolved. Don't boil too long or too short otherwise it just won't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUPPUSAMY
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
OH MY GOODNESS!!! Who ever thought you could make marshmallows from scratch!!! What fun!! Take heed to all the advice for using a LARGE sauce pan as the sugar-mix does expand significantly when you add the gelatin. But don't worry! If you're prepared for it, it'll be fine. I made these with my 3 daughters and 3 friends. We were all really impressed! What an impressive science experiment. I can't say I'll give up completely on store bought marshmallows, simply because of convenience, but I'll definitely make these again, just for the fun of it. Thanks HBIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was my first attempt at making candy and it turned out fantastic! My KitchenAid stand mixer handled this like a pro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by confectionary concoctions
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING! These tase exactly like Peeps! Instead of putting the marshmallows in a pan, I put the pixture into a plastic bag, cut a hole in the corner and piped out different shapes. It was so much fun! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by confectionary concoctions

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Yeah, I definitely have to agree with the other reviewers who said that it would have been nice to know that the gelatin/candy mixture EXPLODES when you combine it. Unfortunately, I read the reviews too late. I literally just ran to my computer to find out what I did wrong, and voila, the first review told me all I needed to know. I only hope that what remains in the "small saucepan" is salveagable. Anybody volunteer to come over and clean my stove?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was soooo fun!! I will note that when you combine the sugar mixture with the gelatin, it explands quite a bit. Just make sure your pan is large enough for that. I added 3/4 tsp of peppermint extract to the sugar mixture after mixing with the gelatin. I also added a swirl of red food coloring at the end, and a few crushed peppermints to the top. I cut these and put them into clear bags and gave as gifts with cocoa. Beautiful presentation for the holidays or Valentine's Day, yummy recipe! I will agree with some of the others that the cutting was quite labor intensive...and messy, messy. Use powdered sugar and a warm knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
The final product is wonderful...especially if instead of vanilla you add peppermint extract, or caramel flavoring. I have only one complaint the recipe didn't warn us that when you add the warm gelatin mixture to the hot sugar mixture it GROWS ALOT. Do NOT use a small saucepan or you'll be scraping sugar boogers off of everything when the pan bubbles over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States