Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was my first attempt at making candy and it turned out fantastic! My KitchenAid stand mixer handled this like a pro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by confectionary concoctions
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING! These tase exactly like Peeps! Instead of putting the marshmallows in a pan, I put the pixture into a plastic bag, cut a hole in the corner and piped out different shapes. It was so much fun! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by confectionary concoctions

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Yeah, I definitely have to agree with the other reviewers who said that it would have been nice to know that the gelatin/candy mixture EXPLODES when you combine it. Unfortunately, I read the reviews too late. I literally just ran to my computer to find out what I did wrong, and voila, the first review told me all I needed to know. I only hope that what remains in the "small saucepan" is salveagable. Anybody volunteer to come over and clean my stove?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was soooo fun!! I will note that when you combine the sugar mixture with the gelatin, it explands quite a bit. Just make sure your pan is large enough for that. I added 3/4 tsp of peppermint extract to the sugar mixture after mixing with the gelatin. I also added a swirl of red food coloring at the end, and a few crushed peppermints to the top. I cut these and put them into clear bags and gave as gifts with cocoa. Beautiful presentation for the holidays or Valentine's Day, yummy recipe! I will agree with some of the others that the cutting was quite labor intensive...and messy, messy. Use powdered sugar and a warm knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
The final product is wonderful...especially if instead of vanilla you add peppermint extract, or caramel flavoring. I have only one complaint the recipe didn't warn us that when you add the warm gelatin mixture to the hot sugar mixture it GROWS ALOT. Do NOT use a small saucepan or you'll be scraping sugar boogers off of everything when the pan bubbles over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I made this and it turned out great, I added 4 drops of pepermint oil, then folded in 4 drops of randomly placed red food coloring to make peppermint "candy cane" marshmallows. awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Yummy! 2 tips that will help any marshmallow recipe: 1. use 1/2 cup of the water called for to dissolve your gelatin. Before heating the sugar mixture, put the gelatin and 1/2cup COLD water together in your mixer and let it dissolve. Must be COLD water, that's the trick. #2 When you begin the final mixing, start on low or medium-low. The mixture will thicken as it cools and you can gradually turn up the speed to ultra-high without flinging it out of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Unfortunately I must have missed the review that said use a large bowl to mix the gelatin and sugar... It went everywhere and burned all over my new stove ... bad deal USE A BIG BOWL to mix sugar and gelatin.. or else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
The ingredients were good, but the order of doing things was off. (That's the only reason for the 3 stars) I made the first batch in the order it was written, but it was very stressful. My syrup was done way before my eggs so it had to just sit there. It got kinda clumpy so it didn't pour well into the eggs. The second time I made it, I changed the order. I started my eggs, then I started the geletin, then I started the sugar mixture. This was smoother going. The eggs were done before my syrup mixture so the syrup poured into the eggs nice and smooth. Also, just a yummy tip for those who want something a little different. Instead of vanilla, I bought flavoring to add to it. I did cheesecake flavor and they were so yummy!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I'd definitely say it tastes like marshmallows... but the consistency just isn't fluffy or light enough in my opinion. These came out very very chewy. Interesting concept.. but I wasn't very "wow"-ed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States