Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This first time I made this the marshmallows didn't turn out. But that was my fault because I didn't mix the marshmallows long enough and I didn't have a candy thermometer. I strongly recommend buying a candy thermometer to make this recipe. The second time I made these they turned out wonderfully. Everybody devoured these marshmallows. This recipe would be great for making your own marshmallow chicks at easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
So very yummy! This was my first time attempting marshmallows so I read the reviews and then followed the recipe with one sub. I didn't have unflavored gelatin, so I used a package of sugar free strawberry jello. By the other reviews I was expecting this to take awhile,but I think from prep to clean-up took 30 minutes tops! I did use my stand mixer which moved things along. I would deff. recommend this recipe and will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
The only reason I'm giving this 3 stars is because we didn't think they tasted any different than store bought and they're much more work. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I think I need to get a candy thermometer. These did not work out for me, but it was so close to working!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Great recipe! To prep the pan, I grease it with butter, line it with foil, grease the foil, then coat liberally with powdered sugar! Works GREAT! I used a 9 X 13 pan too... and just cut them in squares and tossed in powdered sugar. Yums!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staramaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
The flavor of this recipe is worth 5 stars but the instructions are worth 2-3 stars... Thank goodness for some other reviews. I hope the following details are helpful for others. It is easy when you break it down – Start with the sugar mixture. While the sugar is boiling to temperature, then work on the gelatin. While the gelatin melts, then work on the egg whites. Don’t forget to check the sugar syrup intermittently since once it reaches 245, it will quickly go to 260. Also this is much easier to do in a stand mixer than with a hand mixer. The amount of “fluff” is a lot. *Sugar syrup – Use a large saucepan or small stock pot. It will make it easier to add the gelatin mixture later. It takes about 15 minutes to get the syrup to temperature over medium/medium-high heat. *Blooming the gelatin - Put 3/4 cup of COLD water in a small saucepan and sprinkle each tablespoon (or envelope) of gelatin over the water slowly in an even layer. Let rest for 3-5 minutes. Place the saucepan over low heat and stir until the gelatin mixture is totally liquid. Keep over low heat if this liquefies before the syrup is ready. *Egg whites – Once gelatin is liquid, put whites in bowl Beat until soft peaks form. Turn off mixer while finishing the sugar-gelatin mixture. Turn the mixer back on to low speed before adding the sugar mixture in a steady stream. (It may be easier to transfer the sugar-gelatin mixture to a large measuring cup before beginning to pour. I have an 8-cup one tha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heather88
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I'm giving these as christmas gifts this year and they are super easy and even more tasty! I only let them sit for 2 hours, and cut them out with mini cookie cutters and they turned out fine. After cutting, however, I let them sit for probably 4-5 hours, just so they harden slightly. That way they don't stick to eachother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
My son, Nathan, helped to make this recipe. He couldn't wait to see how it was going to puff up. Be prepared to take extra time to get it up to the right temperature, he did wait patiently. It also takes quite awhile to whip it to a stiff peak. That was a fun term to explain to him. Finally, they were ready to put into the pan. Now only 8 more hours to wait. Well, first thing this morning he cut into them. His expert opinion, "Mom, their awesome, they are better then the real ones!" Then I tried them, I definitely agree with him. I loved the vanilla taste and can't wait to try them in hot chocolate. Mmmm! We want to try them again with peppermint. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
WONDERFUL, perfect, fluffy marshmallows! Thank you so much for this great recipe. My kids loved making these. We will be making them for years to come to go with our homemade Christmas hot cocoa! One note: Be sure to follow the recipe carefully and whip until the mixture is very stiff in the last step. I am going to try adding peppermint extract and a little green color next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
These are really great, but they don't always set up as firm as I would like, but don't be afraid to try them and play around with the flavor. We have made all kinds including peppermint, chocolate, vanilla bean, caramel, etc. What great christmas presents with some homemade hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States