Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by heather88
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I'm giving these as christmas gifts this year and they are super easy and even more tasty! I only let them sit for 2 hours, and cut them out with mini cookie cutters and they turned out fine. After cutting, however, I let them sit for probably 4-5 hours, just so they harden slightly. That way they don't stick to eachother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
My son, Nathan, helped to make this recipe. He couldn't wait to see how it was going to puff up. Be prepared to take extra time to get it up to the right temperature, he did wait patiently. It also takes quite awhile to whip it to a stiff peak. That was a fun term to explain to him. Finally, they were ready to put into the pan. Now only 8 more hours to wait. Well, first thing this morning he cut into them. His expert opinion, "Mom, their awesome, they are better then the real ones!" Then I tried them, I definitely agree with him. I loved the vanilla taste and can't wait to try them in hot chocolate. Mmmm! We want to try them again with peppermint. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
WONDERFUL, perfect, fluffy marshmallows! Thank you so much for this great recipe. My kids loved making these. We will be making them for years to come to go with our homemade Christmas hot cocoa! One note: Be sure to follow the recipe carefully and whip until the mixture is very stiff in the last step. I am going to try adding peppermint extract and a little green color next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
These are really great, but they don't always set up as firm as I would like, but don't be afraid to try them and play around with the flavor. We have made all kinds including peppermint, chocolate, vanilla bean, caramel, etc. What great christmas presents with some homemade hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Very nice marshmallow recipe. Having made marshmallows before, I have a couple of suggestions: 1. After blooming the gelatin, you can actually microwave it into a liquid (be careful not to burn it!) so pouring the syrup into it goes more smoothly. 2. To make a nice flat surface of marshmallow to work with, instead of dusting the pan with conf. sugar, lightly coat it with cooking spray, then put a layer of plastic wrap on it to line the pan, and coat the plastic wrap with cooking spray again. You can easily pour the marshmallow into this pan. Then cut another piece of plastic big enough to cover the marshmallow and before putting it on the marshmallow, spray that with cooking spray and put the sprayed side down on the marshmallow surface. This way, you can use your hands to flatten out the surface evenly and after letting it set up, you can just pull the plastic out of the pan and flip the marshmallow out of the greased pan. THEN you can dust it with confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Just tried this recipe for the first time, for my stepchildren, who are vegetarian, but who are dying to try marshmallows.I used vegan gelatin instead (couldn't find agar agar anywhere; I bought "Natural Desserts' unflavored jel dessert"). I had read all the previous reviews, and i took a reviewer's idea to take the steps backwards -preparing the eggs first, then the gelatin, then the syrup, and when that was done, mix with the gelatin, and finish by adding that to the eggs. Worked like a charm. I was disappointed though, at the last step, to NOT see the whole thing "exploding", "expanding", etc... like others have. I had prepared myself for it (used my big KitchenAid bowl for it), and was expected to see it, but it didn't happen. So I wonder if i've done something wrong (I did follow the recipe exactly; the only thing different was the vegan gelatin, so , maybe that changed something? Anyways, at least i didn't have any mess to clean up! :D Right now the marshmallows are still resting. I did taste some off the spatula that i used for spreading the "paste" into the dish, and it tasted really fine, really like a marshmallow that you let melt in your mouth. I'm still waiting to see them dried though. About the drying process, has anyone tried putting them in a warm oven? I was wondering whether that would help or not... PS: it's been 8 hours, and there's a crust on top, but underneath, it's still marshmallow mush... :( Is it linked to the vegan gelatin? To the "non-exploding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolatePanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Fantastic! Used simple hand mixer and did not have a thermometer so I dropped a bit off the spoon into cold water and when it hits the bottom use your finger and move the syrup mixture a bit to see if it forms a firm ball. Use big bowl for the egg as you will be combining the syrup and gelatin mixture into it and you will be mixing it so it will need the room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This Recipe is GREAT! A word of advice though. If you don't want the simple syrup and gel to foam everywhere, wisk in a tiny bit of the gelitin until the foam disappears THEN wisk in the rest. NO MESS! I added 2 tsp of vanilla for extra pop. The family loved them. With everything in front of you in the store you get the idea that homemade is hard but they are not, I dont think I'll be buying Marshmallows again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
These didn't last for even an hour! I dusted them in cinnamin and sugar after cooled. I took the other half and dunked them in melted caramel...wow...these are to die for!! Whenever making candy you have to make sure your sugar is dissolved. Don't boil too long or too short otherwise it just won't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUPPUSAMY
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
OH MY GOODNESS!!! Who ever thought you could make marshmallows from scratch!!! What fun!! Take heed to all the advice for using a LARGE sauce pan as the sugar-mix does expand significantly when you add the gelatin. But don't worry! If you're prepared for it, it'll be fine. I made these with my 3 daughters and 3 friends. We were all really impressed! What an impressive science experiment. I can't say I'll give up completely on store bought marshmallows, simply because of convenience, but I'll definitely make these again, just for the fun of it. Thanks HBIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States