Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This made a big gooey mess. However, after reading a bunch of different marshmallow recipes, I think I found my error. Marthacrocker13's review while very helpful, also lead me astray. The most common gelatin packets that I found have about half a tablespoon of gelatin in it. This recipe calls for 4 tablespoons so I fell quite a bit short on gelatin. Most of the recipes I've read call anywhere for 3-4 packets of gelatin for the amount of sugar used in this recipe so if I did 4 tablespoons it may be too much gelatin but I don't really know since I've not tried it. The next time I do this recipe, I will probably use 3 packets of gelatin and only a cup of water though. But I will try it again, because I am curious as to the difference egg whites make to marshmallow. The recipe that did work for me didn't use them. This recipe could be greatly improved by the author including a note regarding how many gelatin packets to use, since it is a common way to buy gelatin. If I had gotten it to work, I would have given the recipe a 4 since its for marshmallow's and not something more complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is the best marshmallow recipe I've tried and I'll definitely stick with it. I did add a pinch of salt to the hot mixture while it was whipping, and I used 1 tbsp. of clear vanilla. These were HEAVENLY to make s'mores with. HEAVENLY. Nothing like storebought - light and creamy and barely sticky. I know the recipe says to let them sit overnight, but mine are always mostly set in about 30 minutes, and I'm able to cut them within two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I think I messed them up. I poured the gelatin liquid into the syrup and didn't see any explosion... Maybe I poured them together too fast because sugar clumps formed on the corners of the pan. I ended up scooping out the sugar clumps and continuing anyways. It still tastes good like marshmallows even with this weird mistake. Was I supposed to pour the syrup into the gelatin instead?? Or maybe just pour the gelatin a lot slower. I'm going to try some other flavorings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Pretty straightforward recipe (I always check reviews anyway). I had so much fun making this... Yes it's messy, and sticky, but it's marshmallows! :) who ever heard of homemade marshmallows... wish I'd thought of kosher gelatin. Sometime I'll use this for rice crispy treats. I made these into s'more cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I haven't used this reciepe but the ingredients are nearly identical to one I have used. The results were fantastic, if the process was a bit messy. I 1/2 dipped mine in milk and dark chocolates. They were greeted with rave reviews. One note: the batter keeps climbing up the beaters. It was a challenge to keep the mix in the bowl while whipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herekittykitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
The instructions in this recipe fails. This was my third time making marshmallows and wanted to try something different so I have this recipe a go. I ended up with chunks of sugar/gelatin. The instructions just aren't clear. When I add the gelatin to the heated sugar and I add it immediately to the egg whites? Do I wait for the eruption to die down? Do I stir the sugar/water/syrup mixture while waiting for it to come to temp or do I leave it alone? With some tweaking I think the results could be great but I'm not even going to bother and just try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I used this recipe to make chocolate covered eggs for Easter. The marshmallow part was relatively easy to make, but not easy enough to make my own marshmallows rather than buy them from the store! I used a pastry bag with no tip to make marshmallow shapes with the mixture before it hardened. This was not very easy, and the mixture hardened before I could turn all of it into eggs. After letting them sit overnight, I dusted them with a little powdered sugar and then dipped the eggs in chocolate coating. They tasted just like the marshmallow eggs from the store! My family really loved them, and they looked and tasted great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This recipe is great. However, I dusted the pan with cornstarch rather than powdered sugar, as that's what the manufacturers use, and it costs less. For Easter, I filled an oblong pan about half full of cornstarch, then used a plastic Easter egg to make impressions in the cornstarch. Then I put the marshmallow into the impressions. After it set up, I dipped the marshmallow eggs in chocolate, and added icing decorations after the chocolate set up. Voila! Marshmallow Easter eggs! I used an extra large oblong pan, and a medium sized plastic egg. I had room in the pan to make 12 eggs, and had marshmallow left over, which I put into a square pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Ooey-gooey goodness all the way! Thanks for the reviews, the kids and I were prepared and conquered all! The only thing we need advise on are the formation of the Peeps. We put the mallow into a bag and starting piping right away, but they melted into themselves. We waited about 5 minutes, but then blobs were oozing from the bag. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Golding

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Wrangell, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States