Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These are awesome! They are so easy and fun! We colored them Christmas colors. I did not find any problem cutting them, I just used a sharp knife and it was fine. We buttered and then powdered sugared our pan because the sugar didn't stick otherwise. And yeah, don't use a small pan or it will explode! I use a medium one and it just barely fit without making a mess. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I have never tried making homemade marshmallows before so this was a real test. I thought they were good but sticky and hard to work with . Next time I will use the cornstarch tip because I seem to be using a lot of powdered sugar to keep them from sticking together and now they seem a little too sweet. I crushed some candy canes in the food processor and dusted the marshmallows with them then after cutting I shook the sticky marshmallows in a bag with some more candy cane and powdered sugar. They looked beautiful and tasted great! Definitely going to make again and try a few alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Fantastic!! Directions are very clear and if followed will turn out perfection. I used peppermint extract instead of vanilla and dipped some of mine in chocolate for an extra treat. I used Knox brand gelatin and the amount called for in the recipe was an entire box which is 4 packets. These are much more expensive to make than store bought but they taste better and the extra bonus is me, my oldest son, and granpa had a blast in the kitchen making these. I would highly suggest this recipe for some mega fun in the kitchen!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I must have done something wrong because i followed the recipe exactly and I had no "explosion". It still tasted good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is a very good homemade marshmallow. I didn't need/want a lot so I quartered the recipe using one whole egg white. Also I don't like using corn syrup so I omitted it. Everything turned out fine. Four stars because, I found it easy to make and the directions adequate but this isn't a knock your socks off recipe so it doesn't get 5 stars. Next time I will try piping the creme into ropes which I will cut for small mini Marshmallows. and I've always wanted to try peppermint...I've heard it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This made a big gooey mess. However, after reading a bunch of different marshmallow recipes, I think I found my error. Marthacrocker13's review while very helpful, also lead me astray. The most common gelatin packets that I found have about half a tablespoon of gelatin in it. This recipe calls for 4 tablespoons so I fell quite a bit short on gelatin. Most of the recipes I've read call anywhere for 3-4 packets of gelatin for the amount of sugar used in this recipe so if I did 4 tablespoons it may be too much gelatin but I don't really know since I've not tried it. The next time I do this recipe, I will probably use 3 packets of gelatin and only a cup of water though. But I will try it again, because I am curious as to the difference egg whites make to marshmallow. The recipe that did work for me didn't use them. This recipe could be greatly improved by the author including a note regarding how many gelatin packets to use, since it is a common way to buy gelatin. If I had gotten it to work, I would have given the recipe a 4 since its for marshmallow's and not something more complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is the best marshmallow recipe I've tried and I'll definitely stick with it. I did add a pinch of salt to the hot mixture while it was whipping, and I used 1 tbsp. of clear vanilla. These were HEAVENLY to make s'mores with. HEAVENLY. Nothing like storebought - light and creamy and barely sticky. I know the recipe says to let them sit overnight, but mine are always mostly set in about 30 minutes, and I'm able to cut them within two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I think I messed them up. I poured the gelatin liquid into the syrup and didn't see any explosion... Maybe I poured them together too fast because sugar clumps formed on the corners of the pan. I ended up scooping out the sugar clumps and continuing anyways. It still tastes good like marshmallows even with this weird mistake. Was I supposed to pour the syrup into the gelatin instead?? Or maybe just pour the gelatin a lot slower. I'm going to try some other flavorings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Pretty straightforward recipe (I always check reviews anyway). I had so much fun making this... Yes it's messy, and sticky, but it's marshmallows! :) who ever heard of homemade marshmallows... wish I'd thought of kosher gelatin. Sometime I'll use this for rice crispy treats. I made these into s'more cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I haven't used this reciepe but the ingredients are nearly identical to one I have used. The results were fantastic, if the process was a bit messy. I 1/2 dipped mine in milk and dark chocolates. They were greeted with rave reviews. One note: the batter keeps climbing up the beaters. It was a challenge to keep the mix in the bowl while whipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herekittykitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States