Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Pooch656
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Great tasting marshmallows. I mixed the icing sugar with a little corn starch to keep it flowing better (it's a bit warm here so it tends to clump). I just used a saucepan and heated it gently for the gelatin and it worked fine. I didn't have too much of a problem with the syrup and gelatin bubbling, I used a big pot and let it sit for a minute before I whisked the gelatin in. The only hard part was trying to whisk egg whites and syrup together with a hand mixer (good workout) I also let mine sit overnight before cutting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cooks4forty
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These were perfect. I made them as written, but put the mixture in a 13x9, not a 9x9. I'm glad I did. I was able to cut many marshmallows for cocoa. I am looking forward to making this with peppermint extract next. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I used the exact ingredients. I put my gelatin in a bowl without heating it, to the side. I could not get my sugar to 250 so I made do when it leveled off at 200. It looked perfect so maybe it was a thermometer issue. When my syrup was ready, I plopped the gelatin into my egg whites in the mixer, then slowly poured in the very hot syrup. I didn't wait for it to cool. It worked great. I used vanilla. What I really want to add to these great reviews is that you can feel free to roll your cut marshmallows in quite a bit of confectioners sugar. I was worried they would taste like blocks of confectioners sugar, but after one and two days, they only seem to get better. The confectioners sugar is absorbed, makes the cut marshmallows very easy to handle, and only tastes like a light coating of sugar, like what you can taste on the outside of Peeps (only not that strong). Also, the half of my batch that I rolled in crushed candy cane, looked wet and sticky the next morning. I had to roll those in confectioners sugar too. It would have been best to roll them in a mixture of candy cane and confectioners sugar the first time. They do taste great and I will use this recipe again soon. People seemed happy to receive them as gifts because most people wouldn't go to the trouble to make them, but are curious to taste them homemade style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is a great recipe! I am glad I read other reviews first, though, as the larger pan recommendation for mixing the sugar and gelatin mix was really important! I got a little confused with the word 'stiff' in the instructions for the consistency for the final mixing. It made me think it would be more like a cookie dough or something. It actually is more like a very thick frosting - or, more appropriately, marshmallow creme!! ;^D Well worth the effort - I will definitely make these again. Next time, I'll try peppermint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These are awesome! They are so easy and fun! We colored them Christmas colors. I did not find any problem cutting them, I just used a sharp knife and it was fine. We buttered and then powdered sugared our pan because the sugar didn't stick otherwise. And yeah, don't use a small pan or it will explode! I use a medium one and it just barely fit without making a mess. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I have never tried making homemade marshmallows before so this was a real test. I thought they were good but sticky and hard to work with . Next time I will use the cornstarch tip because I seem to be using a lot of powdered sugar to keep them from sticking together and now they seem a little too sweet. I crushed some candy canes in the food processor and dusted the marshmallows with them then after cutting I shook the sticky marshmallows in a bag with some more candy cane and powdered sugar. They looked beautiful and tasted great! Definitely going to make again and try a few alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Utley Price
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Fantastic!! Directions are very clear and if followed will turn out perfection. I used peppermint extract instead of vanilla and dipped some of mine in chocolate for an extra treat. I used Knox brand gelatin and the amount called for in the recipe was an entire box which is 4 packets. These are much more expensive to make than store bought but they taste better and the extra bonus is me, my oldest son, and granpa had a blast in the kitchen making these. I would highly suggest this recipe for some mega fun in the kitchen!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I must have done something wrong because i followed the recipe exactly and I had no "explosion". It still tasted good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is a very good homemade marshmallow. I didn't need/want a lot so I quartered the recipe using one whole egg white. Also I don't like using corn syrup so I omitted it. Everything turned out fine. Four stars because, I found it easy to make and the directions adequate but this isn't a knock your socks off recipe so it doesn't get 5 stars. Next time I will try piping the creme into ropes which I will cut for small mini Marshmallows. and I've always wanted to try peppermint...I've heard it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This made a big gooey mess. However, after reading a bunch of different marshmallow recipes, I think I found my error. Marthacrocker13's review while very helpful, also lead me astray. The most common gelatin packets that I found have about half a tablespoon of gelatin in it. This recipe calls for 4 tablespoons so I fell quite a bit short on gelatin. Most of the recipes I've read call anywhere for 3-4 packets of gelatin for the amount of sugar used in this recipe so if I did 4 tablespoons it may be too much gelatin but I don't really know since I've not tried it. The next time I do this recipe, I will probably use 3 packets of gelatin and only a cup of water though. But I will try it again, because I am curious as to the difference egg whites make to marshmallow. The recipe that did work for me didn't use them. This recipe could be greatly improved by the author including a note regarding how many gelatin packets to use, since it is a common way to buy gelatin. If I had gotten it to work, I would have given the recipe a 4 since its for marshmallow's and not something more complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States