Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These are very good, but there is too much vanilla. Next time I will only use half as much, maybe less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These didn't turn out quite the way I expected - I think after reading some reviews I will add more flavoring next time. Also they were VERY difficult to cut, perhaps piping them out is the best answer. I'll likely try again but after reading more into other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
very messy and time consuming but WELL worth the time!! these are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Yummy, soft goo! It was easy and fun to make. I have an ooloo from Alaska ant I was able to cut the marshmallows in fun shapes for hot cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Bunny
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Great recipe, an easy to follow way to make home-made marshmallows but I think there was a little too much vanilla involved. Slightly overbearing. Otherwise, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
The recipe is 5 stars by itself, but the directions are a little unclear, and I made some boo-boos on my own. First mistake was using the egg whites from a carton!!! I was being lazy, and I paid for it. Second mistake was not beating the egg whites long enough. A few more mistakes, and I get something runny (but it still tastes good!) So I'll let it set overnight and see how it turns out. but I'll try my darnedest to get mine as perfect as the ones in the pictures! I'm using a frog mold to get the Peppermint Toads from Harry Potter! I used different recipes in the past, but they always worked out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilanalu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
We used brown rice syrup instead of corn syrup because we have a little one with a corn allergy. She's never had marshmallows before. They turned out FABULOUS!!! Texture and taste was perfect, almost exactly like store bought Peeps. YUM!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
These are great! This is my first time making any candy and it turned out okay. I didn't have a candy thermometer so I dropped a droplet of sugar into cold water to see if it formed a rigid ball and when it did, it was around 15 minutes. Mine wasn't as stiff as I thought it would be and I think it's because I didn't beat it long enough at the end. The instructions didn't say how long to beat it for. And I put mine ina 9x13 pan and it was like a quarter of an inch thick. I'll definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Wow. I really needed kosher marshmallows, so I tried a "professional" recipe out of a cookbook and it was a horrendous flop (white gummi worms, anyone?). Still, necessity is the mother of motivation if nothing else, so I decided to brave this one. PERFECTION. Use a candy thermometer and get a pair of extra hands to keep the eggs whipping or use a standing mixer; those are the only extra tips I used. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I was freaking out because it's a hot, humid day here, but that didn't have any negative effect. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
These are so fun! I thought the directions worked just fine as written, although I did use a large saucepan. I made the "peppermint" variation others suggested, and it was great. Also, the second time I made them I greased the pan instead of using confectioners sugar. The 10x sugar got very hard and clumpy when I used it the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States