Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
The kids and I loved this recipe. We used my favorite vanilla from Cozumel, Mexico and it took on that great flavor. We colored sugar by adding a few drops of food coloring to about 3/4 cup of regular sugar in a sandwich sized zip lock bag. We used the colored sugar to coat our "Peeps".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Still cooling, but I snuck a taste or two while they were still hot and it was really yummy! I have some leftover yellow food coloring and banana flavoring, so I may add those next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I just couldn't waite to make these. My husband loves peeps. He said these were really great. They do taste good, but I couldn't get them to look like peeps. I tried putting some into a plastic bag to pipe out. That didn't work at all. I ended up useing a spoon and my finger. I will be trying again. I don't have a themomature but I thought it was easy to make. Wish I could have made them into shapes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I love to experiment with recipes. Since joining Allrecipes I have had more fun making and baking things that I was always was curious about. This recipe has satisfied the closet chemist in Me and the candy maker fantasy, at onetime . I impressed Myself! Thank You Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These are very good, but there is too much vanilla. Next time I will only use half as much, maybe less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These didn't turn out quite the way I expected - I think after reading some reviews I will add more flavoring next time. Also they were VERY difficult to cut, perhaps piping them out is the best answer. I'll likely try again but after reading more into other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
very messy and time consuming but WELL worth the time!! these are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Yummy, soft goo! It was easy and fun to make. I have an ooloo from Alaska ant I was able to cut the marshmallows in fun shapes for hot cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Bunny
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Great recipe, an easy to follow way to make home-made marshmallows but I think there was a little too much vanilla involved. Slightly overbearing. Otherwise, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
The recipe is 5 stars by itself, but the directions are a little unclear, and I made some boo-boos on my own. First mistake was using the egg whites from a carton!!! I was being lazy, and I paid for it. Second mistake was not beating the egg whites long enough. A few more mistakes, and I get something runny (but it still tastes good!) So I'll let it set overnight and see how it turns out. but I'll try my darnedest to get mine as perfect as the ones in the pictures! I'm using a frog mold to get the Peppermint Toads from Harry Potter! I used different recipes in the past, but they always worked out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilanalu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States