Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These were a disaster, but a tasty disaster that ended up ok after all. I completely burned the first batch, due to my brand new candy thermometer which was 60 degrees off. Go figure. I knew I should have calibrated that thing... Second batch went much better just using the cold water test. Unfortunately I was interrupted in the middle by my 2 month old, so after breaking for a quick feeding, my gelatin mixture was already beginning to set up. I tried to pour it into my egg white mixture anyways, but "pouring" was sort of a joke by this point, so it was more like gloppy spoonfuls that got pulled up into the spinning mechanism of my KA mixer. Glop got EVERYWHERE. And I do mean EVERYWHERE. My husband essentially had to partially dismantle my mixer to get it clean. I don't know how I actually got ENOUGH of the glop into the egg mixture to actually make these work, but somehow I must've! These were fantastic in cocoa and I also used them to make an AWESOME homemade peppermint mocha. (Made peppermint mallows instead of vanilla). My kids were eating them by the spoonful. Even I enjoyed them, and I actually hate marshmallows. So, despite the disasters, call me crazy, but I'm making another batch today. Only thing I'll change is to cut the peppermint extract to 1/2 tsp. One full tsp was just a little too strong for my tastes. Next project: Hot chocolate on a stick with a homemade peppermint marshmallow in between two chocolate blocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
We made them with cherry flavored gelatin (mostly because we were out of unflavored) and they were delicious! I'll definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pommiegurl130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Very good. SO when I made them there was no "explosion" or "expansion" of the sugar/gelatin mixture. I was worried it wouldn't work but when I mixed it with the egg whites it worked great. At first it took a while in my kitchenaid mixer to get the egg white/sugar/gelatin mixture to form stiff peaks but it did "grow" in size. I got a doulble batch from this one recipe. Double meaning I made 2 8x8 pans with leftovers! My husband a three year old liked the marshmallow cream. I made one batch as the recipe called for and the other batch peppermint. It only took me 30 minutes. I will definently make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Meyers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Yep! This is the one. I doubled the batch, used parchment paper in a 13x9 pan and when they were set I pulled the whole thing out onto the counter to cut. I used all purpose flour to keep them from sticking while cutting and they turned out perfect! Love me some (kosher!) mallows :) Another hint: do yourself a favor and start the gelatin 20 min before the syrup so it's all ready at the same time. Also when you have the finished product ready to go into pans you can throw in your butter and Rice Krispies, press that into the pan and there you have some RK treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I did not care for it at all! lousy instructions, the egg white and the gelatin separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is good standard recipe but I have to agree with others that if you're going to do the work you definitely should be making them flavored. As is I'm sure this makes good plain marshmallows but with some additions it made great specialty marshmallows. I'm very grateful for the reviews made here because I wouldn't have known to use a big pan...thank you. I tried the cappuccino idea out and it was amazing. Just mixed together unsweetended cocoa powder, instant espresso, cinnamon, vanilla and boiling water . Once I combined the syrup, gelatin and egg whites together I added the cappuccino mix. Keep in mind this will thin out the marshmallow mix so you'll have to whip it for longer. I probably left my mixer on medium for 3-4 minutes and the consistency thickened up perfectly. Just make sure it looks like something you'd have to spread out (not pour) into the dish...similar to a brownie batter. I can't wait to try other variations like pumpkin spice or white chocolate. It's not a difficult process but it requires some time and cleanup. Still worth it in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is the first marshmallow recipe I've used with egg whites, so I was curious to see how it came out versus the sugar/gelatin only version. I thought the amount of gelatin was too high, so I cut it down to one packet per cup of sugar and it turned out perfectly. These were much lighter than my previous ones and they kept their volume. They also weren't crazy sweet, with is what I like. I plan on making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
The kids and I loved this recipe. We used my favorite vanilla from Cozumel, Mexico and it took on that great flavor. We colored sugar by adding a few drops of food coloring to about 3/4 cup of regular sugar in a sandwich sized zip lock bag. We used the colored sugar to coat our "Peeps".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Still cooling, but I snuck a taste or two while they were still hot and it was really yummy! I have some leftover yellow food coloring and banana flavoring, so I may add those next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I just couldn't waite to make these. My husband loves peeps. He said these were really great. They do taste good, but I couldn't get them to look like peeps. I tried putting some into a plastic bag to pipe out. That didn't work at all. I ended up useing a spoon and my finger. I will be trying again. I don't have a themomature but I thought it was easy to make. Wish I could have made them into shapes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States