Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I read the reviews and wasn't sure if this will turn out good but I wanted to do something with my kids. I followed the recipe exactly as it stated and it was not only fun but it turned out great. Much better than store bought. In addition, my kids were licking the spoons since it tasted so good (before it even set).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
GREAT! They turned out very well! The hardest part was cutting them up though. I rolled each one in confectioners' sugar so that they wouldn't stick together, and I used the idea of cleaning the knife with hot water. Tasty and actually rather easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Great recipe! I had never made marshmallows before, but these weren't hard at all. One tip: when you cut them, keep rinsing your knife with hot water.. helps to keep them from sticking to the knife. Would recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Were very good! Mine took longer to dry out, more like 2 days. But that's because I used honey for the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
These are the best!! This recipe is a lifesaver for our family. We cannot have food dye in our diet, and there are no longer commercially available bags of marshmallow without blue dye. I will be trying them out with a rice crispy treat recipe next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Okay all you Mounds Bar lovers, here's a fun tip with your homemade marshmallows. Allow your marshmallows to "age" for 24 hours. Make sure they are nicely coated on all sides with powered sugar (shake of excess). You'll need a cup each of chocolate chips and flaked sweetened coconut. Melt some dark chocolate chips (about a cup for 1 minute on high in microwave, stir, and heat a few seconds longer if chips aren't melting when stirred.) Take a cookie sheet and cover with waxed paper, set aside. Take one marshmallow, and with the slightly cooled chocolate spread all sides except the bottom. A small spoon works fine for this. Set this on the lined cookie sheet and immediately sprinkle and pat coconut on all the chocolate covered surfaces. Do the same with the remaining chocolate and coconut. Let these sit for a couple of hours for chocolate to "set up". This only makes about 6 (I cut my marshmallows into 2 inch squares prior to all of this). Just repeat the process if you want more. Work in small batches to keep the chocolate at the right temperature. These are fabulous alone or served on top of a hot brownie and a scoop of vanilla ice cream. So easy, and so incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINE PERKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Wonderful recipe! A little messy but way worth the time. I suggest four indispensable tools to tackle this recipe: a medium to large non-stick saucepan, a candy thermometer, a non-stick silicone-coated spoon or spatula and a good standing-electric mixer. I used a decent 3-quart non-stick saucepan to heat the simple syrup mixture. It worked wonders, especially after adding the softened gelatin. The cooled substance causes the syrup to foam substantially. The larger saucepan accomodated well. (Hint: a package of unflavored gelatin equals the amount needed for the recipe.) The trick to keeping the syrup and gelatin from separating is to mix it thoroughly before setting it aside. My 5-quart KitchenAid helped to whip the whites into the beautiful marshmallow fluff. Won't say it can't be done with a hand mixer, but I'd try half a batch at a time and recruit another set of hands to help pour the syrup/gelatin mixture into the soft-peaked egg whites. I just recently learned what a See's Candies Scotch Kiss is (marshmallow wrapped in soft caramel). This recipe produces marshmallows quite similar in texture and taste (soft/light and not too sweet). I used the Caramels by Barbara recipe to envelope the marshmallows. YUM! I WILL make these for Christmas!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTHACROCKER13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This recipe was a disaster for me! It definitely was NOT easy. It created quite a mess. I first reviewed this in 2003. Now there are so many reviews to read perhaps I could find my mistake. After seeing the beautiful pictures, I'm going to have to give this another try. It was a rainy day, perhaps that was a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
A very thoughtful friend gave me a box of handcut marshmallows from Williams-Sonoma this past December since she know's I'm a marshmallow addict. I went to reorder them from the W-S website but hesitated when I saw the price. Of course, I checked out All-Recipes and found Emily's recipe. Well, I tried it right away and have to say I wouldn't change a thing. These were easy, taste wonderful (use REAL vanilla!) and very impressive for a minimal amount of work. Not only do I love them and the oos and aahs I get from my adult friends, but my 7 and 8 year-old both love them and have their friends jealous and asking for them whenever they come over to play. Way to go Emily....this one's a keeper~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I tried this recipe for the very first time last week and it was a great success. It came out perfect and I am so pleased with the results including taste. Honestly this is fail proof !! Very easy !!! Even a Monkey can do this !! I will do this more often fr now on Evelyn Of Elk Grove, CA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States