Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
These were excellent. Very good recipe. I followed directions exactly and also used the knife in hot water trick. I had read another suggestion stating you would use one packet of gelatin, I used FOUR (that is in one box) to equal 4 Tablespoons of gelatin. I also had to add a touch more hot water to the gelatin to make it dissolve. These are very good, and not as tough to make as you may think. I did make mine on a clear day and I would definitly suggest that to anyone making them. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
These were a mess -- didn't solidify even after 48 hours. It could be because I used kosher gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
While these marshmallows taste good, I found them to be quite sticky and difficulty to handle. I made them the same evening that I made my own recipe for marshmallow peeps. The taste was almost identical, but the peeps were softer and easier to handle. The peeps may take a little longer to set up before they are ready to be cut. I also like the fact that the peeps recipe takes less gelatin, making them cheaper to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This was a fun recipe. I told the kids it was more like a science experiment than baking! We had a great time making it and were surprised to find that it tasted just like marshmallows you buy in the store. We rolled ours in powdered sugar as others have suggested. That kept them from sticking to each other after being cut. Great for fondue dipping! I appreciate this recipe since it doesn't have all the chemical perserves that store bought marshmallows have. We are planning on making these again when all the cousins come to visit for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Lots of fun to make,turned out exactly as promised,kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Surprisingly easy to make, though a little messy. I think I overbeat mine or just let them sit too long before piping them into "chicks" for easter, so by the time I was half done the fluff was unmanageably stiff and I had to spread it in a pan. However the final result was tasty and the consistency was fine. I'll make them again, now that I know a little better how the recipe goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
These were the most fun, most awesome, most yummiest thing I've ever made! Even though I messed up the recipe (I added the gelatin too quickly/too soon, and it overflowed all over the stovetop) it still solidified and I had a delightful time making shapes out of the goo and decorating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Wonderful recipe! Everyone was so impressed with these homemade marshmallows. They were just like store bought only better! Not really that difficult either. I rolled each marshmallow generously in powdered sugar after I cut them. Clean up was easy with lots of really hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I read the reviews and wasn't sure if this will turn out good but I wanted to do something with my kids. I followed the recipe exactly as it stated and it was not only fun but it turned out great. Much better than store bought. In addition, my kids were licking the spoons since it tasted so good (before it even set).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
GREAT! They turned out very well! The hardest part was cutting them up though. I rolled each one in confectioners' sugar so that they wouldn't stick together, and I used the idea of cleaning the knife with hot water. Tasty and actually rather easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States