Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
What they didn't tell you is that when you whisk the syrup and gelatin together, use a big bowl! It said use a small saucepan for the syrup and a small bowl to warm the gelatin and then whisk together when it was time. What they don't tell you is that it explodes!! For the first time candy maker, this would have been a helpful hint. I'll definitly try this recipe again, because I really want to learn to make marshmallows, but I'll wait till another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
373 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Excellent in hot chocolate! Be prepared for the intensely bad smell of the boiling gelatin. I will only make this on special occasions because the effort needed is great in comparison to buying a simple bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This was a fun recipe and it turned out great. I'm very glad that I had a stand mixer though because it took at least 10 minutes for the egg white mixture to get hard. I did add peppermint extract - wow - be careful! I used 1/2 tsp and it was way too much. Next time I will also make them in a bigger pan so that they aren't so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I made these as a Christmas treat, and they are DELICIOUS! I also found them quite easy to make. I found that they were set after only a few hours in the fridge. I cut them into squares and rolled them in toasted coconut - YUM! Thanks for the great recipe - I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This will be our second year in a row to make this recipe (a holiday treat!). If peppermint extract is substituted for vanilla extract, and if a tiny bit of red food coloring is swirled through the mixture with a butter knife before it sets, a delightful and colorful result ensues, perfect for dressing up a hot cocoa for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I've made these twice, and they're fabulous. Last time around I dipped them in melted semi-sweet chocolate and rolled them in non-pareils for a real gourmet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
These were excellent. Very good recipe. I followed directions exactly and also used the knife in hot water trick. I had read another suggestion stating you would use one packet of gelatin, I used FOUR (that is in one box) to equal 4 Tablespoons of gelatin. I also had to add a touch more hot water to the gelatin to make it dissolve. These are very good, and not as tough to make as you may think. I did make mine on a clear day and I would definitly suggest that to anyone making them. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
These were a mess -- didn't solidify even after 48 hours. It could be because I used kosher gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
While these marshmallows taste good, I found them to be quite sticky and difficulty to handle. I made them the same evening that I made my own recipe for marshmallow peeps. The taste was almost identical, but the peeps were softer and easier to handle. The peeps may take a little longer to set up before they are ready to be cut. I also like the fact that the peeps recipe takes less gelatin, making them cheaper to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This was a fun recipe. I told the kids it was more like a science experiment than baking! We had a great time making it and were surprised to find that it tasted just like marshmallows you buy in the store. We rolled ours in powdered sugar as others have suggested. That kept them from sticking to each other after being cut. Great for fondue dipping! I appreciate this recipe since it doesn't have all the chemical perserves that store bought marshmallows have. We are planning on making these again when all the cousins come to visit for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States