Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I can see why Emily is famous. Our family does not eat pork products, so homemade marshmallows are the only way for us to enjoy them. I get beef gelatin at Akins. And let me tell you, Sa'mores made from these marshmallows are to die for! Oh yeah, they are the best for hot chocolate too! I can just imagine "Peeps", moon pies, rocky road ice cream...I have to go make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
My sister and I decided to make this recipe to see what all the hype was with homemade marshmallows. We planned on making it strictly according to the recipe, but once we realized how involved it was (for marshmallows, anyway), we decided to skip the vanilla and go with the peppermint and red food coloring idea. The results were fantastic. Now we wonder why they don't sell peppermint marshmallows in the store. It tastes great by itself or with hot chocolate or a latte. I did use a large bowl when mixing the syrup and gelatin (the other reviewers were right-it really does explode like a science experiment!) And the hot water really does help with cutting and clean up. This recipe, in peppermint form, is a keeper. Too much trouble in the regular version, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
've made these a few times now, always with outstanding results. My marshmallow chicks were not the most attactive (picture pastel yellow dog poo) but for they are taste wonderful, and are perfect for doing chocolate marshmallow eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
These were good, I guess. they just tasted like marshmallows, but they cost way too much money$$$
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it unfortunately didn't turn out- It never solidified (it stayed the consistency of frosting) and it had an odd aftertaste. It's not the best candy, but it would make an nice frosting or filling for a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by @lyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
What they didn't tell you is that when you whisk the syrup and gelatin together, use a big bowl! It said use a small saucepan for the syrup and a small bowl to warm the gelatin and then whisk together when it was time. What they don't tell you is that it explodes!! For the first time candy maker, this would have been a helpful hint. I'll definitly try this recipe again, because I really want to learn to make marshmallows, but I'll wait till another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Excellent in hot chocolate! Be prepared for the intensely bad smell of the boiling gelatin. I will only make this on special occasions because the effort needed is great in comparison to buying a simple bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This was a fun recipe and it turned out great. I'm very glad that I had a stand mixer though because it took at least 10 minutes for the egg white mixture to get hard. I did add peppermint extract - wow - be careful! I used 1/2 tsp and it was way too much. Next time I will also make them in a bigger pan so that they aren't so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I made these as a Christmas treat, and they are DELICIOUS! I also found them quite easy to make. I found that they were set after only a few hours in the fridge. I cut them into squares and rolled them in toasted coconut - YUM! Thanks for the great recipe - I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This will be our second year in a row to make this recipe (a holiday treat!). If peppermint extract is substituted for vanilla extract, and if a tiny bit of red food coloring is swirled through the mixture with a butter knife before it sets, a delightful and colorful result ensues, perfect for dressing up a hot cocoa for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States