Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
little messy to make, but well worth it. I will never buy marshmallows from the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMcknett
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oakland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this homemade marshmallow to replace a marshmallow topping for s'mores pie that used 5 egg whites, because I didn't have that many. Despite some difficulty getting the gelatine to dissolve, it ended up making a LOT of tasty marshmallow. I added extra vanilla, because I really like it. In the end, I only have one small warning - beware of the extreme stickyness! I've found that it's easier to cut the marshmallow if you run a sharp knife under hot water then dry it off (otherwise the marshmallow will stick to it and you will NEVER get it off cleanly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Lauren

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KICKS
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I made these once and they didn't work but I think that was my fault the second time I made them they were perfect! I've had them for a bit of time and they're still good. They make a really nice melted top for hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I can see why Emily is famous. Our family does not eat pork products, so homemade marshmallows are the only way for us to enjoy them. I get beef gelatin at Akins. And let me tell you, Sa'mores made from these marshmallows are to die for! Oh yeah, they are the best for hot chocolate too! I can just imagine "Peeps", moon pies, rocky road ice cream...I have to go make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
My sister and I decided to make this recipe to see what all the hype was with homemade marshmallows. We planned on making it strictly according to the recipe, but once we realized how involved it was (for marshmallows, anyway), we decided to skip the vanilla and go with the peppermint and red food coloring idea. The results were fantastic. Now we wonder why they don't sell peppermint marshmallows in the store. It tastes great by itself or with hot chocolate or a latte. I did use a large bowl when mixing the syrup and gelatin (the other reviewers were right-it really does explode like a science experiment!) And the hot water really does help with cutting and clean up. This recipe, in peppermint form, is a keeper. Too much trouble in the regular version, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
've made these a few times now, always with outstanding results. My marshmallow chicks were not the most attactive (picture pastel yellow dog poo) but for they are taste wonderful, and are perfect for doing chocolate marshmallow eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
These were good, I guess. they just tasted like marshmallows, but they cost way too much money$$$
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it unfortunately didn't turn out- It never solidified (it stayed the consistency of frosting) and it had an odd aftertaste. It's not the best candy, but it would make an nice frosting or filling for a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by @lyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
What they didn't tell you is that when you whisk the syrup and gelatin together, use a big bowl! It said use a small saucepan for the syrup and a small bowl to warm the gelatin and then whisk together when it was time. What they don't tell you is that it explodes!! For the first time candy maker, this would have been a helpful hint. I'll definitly try this recipe again, because I really want to learn to make marshmallows, but I'll wait till another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Excellent in hot chocolate! Be prepared for the intensely bad smell of the boiling gelatin. I will only make this on special occasions because the effort needed is great in comparison to buying a simple bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States