Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
These are excellent hash browns - great taste and easy to make. I don't really care for fried foods, so I only used a very small amount of oil to fry them in and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Thank you, Emily! I've never had success with hash browns and those were wonderful. I used two skillets; one with a thick layer and another with just a thin layer. They were both great. I didn't use nearly as much oil as the recipe called for and will use even less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Wow. Unbelievable. About as good as one could hope for. Crispy on the outside, firm and tasty on the inside. And what a flavor. This will be my hashbrown recipe from here on out. I do have one cautionary tip, particularly if like me, you haven't cooked hashbrowns before. Make sure that you don't have too much oil in the pan. The hashbrowns will take forever to brown and may be too greasy for your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I have not been successful with hashbrown recipes. This recipe is great. It is quick and easy. It took me less than 25 minutes from start to finish. Some guests may want to add salt and pepper to the finished product
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Made these for my husband's breakfast. Used red potatoes as that is what I had on hand and used 3 as they were not quite medium in size. Hash browns were great, fried nice and brown and very crisp, the way I like them. Will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
These were the best hashbrowns that I have ever had. My family loved them! They will be a favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
This is how my grandma made potato pancakes. I loved them so much I would ask for them on my birthday. I never thought of making hashbrowns instead of cakes. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
These are so easy to make and taste so much better than any diner hash browns. My husband loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
Mmmm, these were good! I substituted Bisquick for the flour because I didn't have any flour on hand, and they worked out just fine. They were nice and crispy on the outside, tender on the inside and really tasty. I will definitely make them again - although, I might add more seasoning to them next time and see how they turn out. (Maybe some paprika, salt or garlic salt.) Oh, and they were easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
excellent.....my kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States