Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Thank you, Emily! I've never had success with hash browns and those were wonderful. I used two skillets; one with a thick layer and another with just a thin layer. They were both great. I didn't use nearly as much oil as the recipe called for and will use even less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Made these for my husband's breakfast. Used red potatoes as that is what I had on hand and used 3 as they were not quite medium in size. Hash browns were great, fried nice and brown and very crisp, the way I like them. Will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I've also not had much success with hash browns and these are no exception. They weren't terrible -- but I wouldn't make them again either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I have not been successful with hashbrown recipes. This recipe is great. It is quick and easy. It took me less than 25 minutes from start to finish. Some guests may want to add salt and pepper to the finished product
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
These were the best hashbrowns that I have ever had. My family loved them! They will be a favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This was good. I had never made hash browns before, but I like to make breakfast food for dinner and this hit the spot and I made it so quickly! My husband also liked these. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
These hash browns held together well, but were too doughy for me. I could taste the flour in there not the potatoes.this recipe is easy to flip and work with in the pan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Wow. Unbelievable. About as good as one could hope for. Crispy on the outside, firm and tasty on the inside. And what a flavor. This will be my hashbrown recipe from here on out. I do have one cautionary tip, particularly if like me, you haven't cooked hashbrowns before. Make sure that you don't have too much oil in the pan. The hashbrowns will take forever to brown and may be too greasy for your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Pretty Good. I have been looking for a way to make great hashbrowns and this is a keeper. Its a good base recipe to if you would like to add some extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
These are excellent hash browns - great taste and easy to make. I don't really care for fried foods, so I only used a very small amount of oil to fry them in and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States