Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
By far the best I have ever tasted,added garlic and onion powder plus a pinch of rosemary and fried in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This recipe brings back childhood memories. My Irish grandmother used to make them almost every Saturday night during winter. Back during the depression when food was scarce potatoes were a staple vegetable which could be grown in the backyard therefore was a cheap meal. We would load up with the tomato sauce and tuck right in. Reviewer's have added bacon in the ingredients where as if we were lucky grandmother may put some bacon on the side with an egg. Now being a grandmum myself I'll be dishing this up to my grandchildren, but being an Aussie we can't leave off the tomato sauce. I must admit we fried them in the frypan with a light coating of butter in the pan not oil. Butter helped with the overall flavour where as oil would be soaked up into the potato. Thanks for reminding me of a good old fashion favourite staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephinebat10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
These were very tasty. Not quite the texture I was looking for-but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I like them a tad crispier, so I add 1/2 tsp of baking powder. The towel you squeeze them in will never come clean if you don't rinse it thoroughly immediately. I use a salad spinner to dry mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This is by far the best hash brown recipe yet. We love hash browns but even the restaurants these days don't make them right. Thank you I don't use quite as much oil but WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I sometimes add a little flour to my hash browns when I make them from fresh potatoes, but this is more like potato pancakes than hash browns with the egg and onion. My favorite has browns are still from leftover baked potatoes. The secret to getting them nice and crispy without them being too oily is to get vegetable oil really hot, and don't mess with them too much in the pan. Let them brown well before you turn them, then turn brown well again, and if you like, "dismantle" to expose more unbrowned interior and brown that well, then stop! Any more and you'll have to add more oil and you'll wreck the structure and get something mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Every time I make this, there is never enough! It's fabulous - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Wonderful, easy and quick! Change nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Very tasty! I made a vegan version using Ener-g egg replacer. I also used less oil and added a few drops of Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyloewenthal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
My husband is a bit of a hash brown snob and he simply went nuts over this recipe. I thought it was pretty simple and followed the recipe to the letter. I think the key is making sure the potatoes are thoroughly rinsed and squeezed as dry as possible, and use a heavy pan. I used a Lodge 10.5 inch cast iron skillet. I used Canola oil for the oil and it really only needed about 5 minutes per side. My husband said they were so good,he didn't want to add ketchup (that's high praise!) Since there's just two of us, we saved half for breakfast tomorrow morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States