Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
These are not hash browns. This is a recipe that has been in my family for generations. I learned how to make them from my German Grandmother. They are called potato pancakes and are delicious served with apple sauce. I still make them on occasion although I now fry them in canola oil rather than the Crisco she used back then. I am now 70 and have handed down the recipe to my 3 children and my older grand children. Enjoy them everyone regardless of what they are called.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
The only difference between this recipe and the one I have been using is the egg. What a difference an egg makes! (Sounds like an old song, doesn't it?) I have been cooking for a long time so I didn't measure anything and I used red potatoes instead of russets. I spread the mixture in the hot skillet and left it alone for 5 minutes. Turned it over and left it another 5 minutes. Viola! Perfect! If this didn't turn out right for you, you did something wrong. Thanks, Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
It works well, I also shredded some carrot to add to the mix. This gives a great look and adds a little sweetness too. Bill F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownville, New York, USA
Living In: Cazenovia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Add some baking powder to make them even fluffier. This basicaly a recipe for potatoe pancakes. It is very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruth rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was fantastic! I used sweet potatoes and added a little Italian seasoning and reduced the onion to a quarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I like to cook up some bacon first, then use the bacon grease to cook the hash browns. Adds great flavor! Also, if you add some shredded Swiss cheese you have Rosti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This is a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
These are delicious! I was out of flour so I used pancake mix instead. I have never quite mastered the art of cooking shredded hashbrowns, but these are so easy to make, I feel like a pro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
We have been making these for many years - we call them Potato Pancakes… We love them as well with sour cream. They are also excellent with pancetta diced and fried prior to adding to the "hash browns". YUM!! I never use that much oil to fry. I use a non-stick griddle and they turn out just fine. BOOMCHICKABOOM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My family calls these latke's or potato pancakes, its a base recipe that is fantastic. I do use a bit less flour and I make sure that as much liquid from the grated/shredded potatoes is squeezed out (put shreds/grated potato in colander press down with papertowel, mix it up do it again - a few times) this helps for a firmer latke where you can use less flour - in my opinion too much flour can ruin these. 1/4 cup is about right, but you have to judge the potatoes you use, some are "wetter" than others and I generally use less than a 1/4 cup. and now for the best part.. You can jazz these up in so many ways!! Add hot sauce for a spicy mix to the egg, italian or ranch dry seasoning w/ the flour. Taco seasoning.. the list is endless! another little tip, if you, as I do, occasionally try not to fry everything in sight for health, you can do these in the oven, but I suggest first microwaving the potato shreds for just a couple of minutes, then mix everything when the shreds have cooled. Form the patties (not too thick or thin) spray with butter flavored cooking spray,and then pop into the oven. If you're worried about trying in the oven- test a few while you're frying so you can judge temp/thickness etc. for added pizzazz... put a slice of your fav. cheese on top when they're nearly done. We've tried all these variations regularly - and this is a GREAT Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States