Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I had to make a bit more because of the men I was feeding with this, so I multiplied the recipe by 1 1/2. I used 3 medium russet potatoes, a Jumbo egg, 1/3 cup flour, half an onion, half a bell pepper and a couple of chopped mushrooms. However, I reduced the oil to 3/4 cup so they wouldn't be so greasy. I used an iron skillet and cooked them on a lower heat (#6 on an electric stove). They were difficult to flip, but once I did, I moved them into the oven on 350 to finish them off nicely. It took much longer to cook that way, but they came out perfect. I WILL make this again! There wasn't a crumb left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is definitely going to be our family forever recipe! You can't go back to frozen one ! Also made kind of pancake using cabbage instead of potato.yummy and healthy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kyoto, Kyoto, Japan
Living In: Gambrills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Excellent and so easy. It's a great way to "hash" when camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Loved it, but changed a few things. Used the equivalent weight of unpeeled red potatoes. Soaked the grated potatoes in a quart of water with 1 tsp salt for 10 minutes, then rinsed and squeezed dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My family loves hash-browns...I make them in a 12 inch skillet and when it is time to flip them, grab a sheet pan, place it over the skillet, invert and then slid them back into the pan...voila, perfectly flipped hash browns! (then i use the sheet pan to keep them warm in the oven while i prepare everyone's eggs.)Cut with a pizza cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. OConnor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
These are definitely "Good old fashioned restaurant-style hash browns..." like those I remember and which are pretty much impossible to find today. Whether they are more like latkes or hashbrowns is irrelevant: they are wonderful! I can finally end my search for a good hashbrown recipe. The only change I made was to use unflavored frozen hashbrowns (because I hate shredding) and to defrost, and thereby dryout, on a paper plate sprayed with cooking oil in the microwave. Thank you your mom, you have make me very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Meh..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Emily Hash Browns are famous at my home now. so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This recipe is exactly the same as our Potato Pancake Recipe. Best served with sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Didn't like the flavor. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 31-40 (of 602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States