Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I followed the video step by step and just wasn't pleased with the way they tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Great recipe! I used less oil and they browned nicely anyway. I recommend rinsing and spinning the potato shreds in a salad spinner. Much easier. Though you probably want to do it two batches. PattieB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I grew up in the country with hash browns several times a week. These are THE BEST I've ever had! Probably not the most healthy for you but hey, if you are going to do it, DO IT RIGHT and these definitely right! I fried them up separately and put them on a rack in a warm oven. They stay nice and crisp that way and were ready when I needed them. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
The never ending winter (2013-14) has been one of lots of comfort food in my home. My gf and I just added this great recipe to our list. I used a mix of russet, red and yellow-fleshed potatoes that were going soft. They turned out great with a excellent crispy exterior and softer interior. We fried them in canola oil in a large cast iron pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I had to make a bit more because of the men I was feeding with this, so I multiplied the recipe by 1 1/2. I used 3 medium russet potatoes, a Jumbo egg, 1/3 cup flour, half an onion, half a bell pepper and a couple of chopped mushrooms. However, I reduced the oil to 3/4 cup so they wouldn't be so greasy. I used an iron skillet and cooked them on a lower heat (#6 on an electric stove). They were difficult to flip, but once I did, I moved them into the oven on 350 to finish them off nicely. It took much longer to cook that way, but they came out perfect. I WILL make this again! There wasn't a crumb left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody aka Dumplin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is definitely going to be our family forever recipe! You can't go back to frozen one ! Also made kind of pancake using cabbage instead of potato.yummy and healthy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kyoto, Kyoto, Japan
Living In: Gambrills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Excellent and so easy. It's a great way to "hash" when camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Loved it, but changed a few things. Used the equivalent weight of unpeeled red potatoes. Soaked the grated potatoes in a quart of water with 1 tsp salt for 10 minutes, then rinsed and squeezed dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My family loves hash-browns...I make them in a 12 inch skillet and when it is time to flip them, grab a sheet pan, place it over the skillet, invert and then slid them back into the pan...voila, perfectly flipped hash browns! (then i use the sheet pan to keep them warm in the oven while i prepare everyone's eggs.)Cut with a pizza cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. OConnor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
These are definitely "Good old fashioned restaurant-style hash browns..." like those I remember and which are pretty much impossible to find today. Whether they are more like latkes or hashbrowns is irrelevant: they are wonderful! I can finally end my search for a good hashbrown recipe. The only change I made was to use unflavored frozen hashbrowns (because I hate shredding) and to defrost, and thereby dryout, on a paper plate sprayed with cooking oil in the microwave. Thank you your mom, you have make me very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States