Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very good! Nice small recipe that makes about 8 cakes. I shredded the onion, and added the salt and pepper to the mix before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I substituted the potato with sweet potato and added a dash of cinnamon. My family really liked it but i thought it was only okay. I can say my hash browns stayed very crispy hours after i made them which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
FOUND- the Holy Grail of hash browns! Thank you Emily!!! I followed the recipe as written and plan a few changes next time to add shredded cheddar cheese and bacon plus a bit less Smart Balance oil. There was a teaspoon full of oil left after frying up 1/2 package of frozen shredded potatoes. I washed them and dried them thoroughly before mixing with the egg, onions, and flour. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Loved it. Glad I came across the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason L. Bell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I'll make my hash browns like this from now on. I made my hash browns into little patties which made it easier to cook. I did not use a lot of grease either. I tend to use some bacon grease when I'm making bacon with breakfast and it gave the potatoes a little more flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbass505

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have to say this didn't turn out well. The potatoes burnt before the insides cooked...I don't know what I didn't wrong, I have the hardest time with hash browns. The unburnt part was flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Daus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I struggled with making good hash browns at home until I found this recipe. It's absolutely perfect and makes crunchy hash browns, which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
These were great!! I've tried making hash browns countless times, and they've never really been very close to restaurant hash browns, until I tried these! They were also super easy and fast! Thanks for an awesome recipe! Update: I already made these again! My husband even loves them, and he doesn't usually like hash browns. To the uncooked batter I added a little salt, pepper, and a few dashes of garlic powder, onion powder and mccormick chicken seasoning (I know it sounds strange, but if you're familiar with this seasoning, you know it's great on so much more than chicken). They were even better this time with the additional seasonings, but even with no changes, these are still the best hash browns I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great recipe, I added some Old Bay Seasoning and they turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States