Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have to say this didn't turn out well. The potatoes burnt before the insides cooked...I don't know what I didn't wrong, I have the hardest time with hash browns. The unburnt part was flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Daus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I struggled with making good hash browns at home until I found this recipe. It's absolutely perfect and makes crunchy hash browns, which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
These were great!! I've tried making hash browns countless times, and they've never really been very close to restaurant hash browns, until I tried these! They were also super easy and fast! Thanks for an awesome recipe! Update: I already made these again! My husband even loves them, and he doesn't usually like hash browns. To the uncooked batter I added a little salt, pepper, and a few dashes of garlic powder, onion powder and mccormick chicken seasoning (I know it sounds strange, but if you're familiar with this seasoning, you know it's great on so much more than chicken). They were even better this time with the additional seasonings, but even with no changes, these are still the best hash browns I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great recipe, I added some Old Bay Seasoning and they turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Loved these hash browns. The first time I flipped them they were perfectly browned and stayed together nicely. The second flip was not as sucessful. They were not browned enough so I flipped them again and my nice patties all fell apart. Still tasty though. I will be more patient next time so they come out nice and pretty and in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My husband really liked them! Being I am from Louisiana I added Tony's and a dash of cayenne to give it a kick!! I will definately fix them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This really did give me restaurant style hashbrowns! The outside was golden and crispy and the inside was soft and creamy. For additional flavor I added some garlic powder and cayenne pepper. The only thing I did differently was not use nearly the oil as stated in the recipe due to many reviews saying they were greasy. Plus - I really didn't want the excess oil. I used just enough to lightly cover the bottom of the pan and made sure it was rippling hot before I added the hashbrowns. I then turned the temp down slightly so they wouldn't burn. When I flipped I didn't add any additional oil. The second side didn't have quite the golden crispy texture since it didn't have any extra oil, but, we still liked it and saved on some of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Proceed with CAUTION. Do NOT drop any food into boiling hot oil. This recipe literally blew up in my face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Good, but because my hash browns were a little thick, the inside was bland. I will add salt and pepper to the potatoes before cooking them next time instead of after. Since I didn't have any oil on hand, I cooked the potatoes with lard. Worked fine, but I think I'll use less next time. Another option is to use bacon grease which will impart additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
OMG! I didn't even realize how easy this is!! Really I am giving this five stars just because it is SO easy to make. I always thought hash browns were so hard, and either bought them freeze dried or frozen. This is so much healthier and better for you. I've tried this as the recipe is and it's awesome, BUT...it's so much better if you... 1. Caramelize the onions with some chopped garlic. 2. I add a little cayenne pepper, because it gives it a little kick. 3. I have substituted wheat flour, corn flour, the whole bit and honestly they taste a little different, but not different enough not to use it. 4. No matter how big your potatoes are, the ratio of flour and egg is fine. If you don't have enough potatoes, it comes out more like a potato pancake, but it's still REALLY delicious. The hubs, a hash brown snob, LOVES it either way. That's saying something! :) Finally, this is a GREAT recipe, because it's to your taste. In my rotation for SURE!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 111-120 (of 602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States