Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I sometimes add a little flour to my hash browns when I make them from fresh potatoes, but this is more like potato pancakes than hash browns with the egg and onion. My favorite has browns are still from leftover baked potatoes. The secret to getting them nice and crispy without them being too oily is to get vegetable oil really hot, and don't mess with them too much in the pan. Let them brown well before you turn them, then turn brown well again, and if you like, "dismantle" to expose more unbrowned interior and brown that well, then stop! Any more and you'll have to add more oil and you'll wreck the structure and get something mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Every time I make this, there is never enough! It's fabulous - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Wonderful, easy and quick! Change nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Very tasty! I made a vegan version using Ener-g egg replacer. I also used less oil and added a few drops of Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyloewenthal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
My husband is a bit of a hash brown snob and he simply went nuts over this recipe. I thought it was pretty simple and followed the recipe to the letter. I think the key is making sure the potatoes are thoroughly rinsed and squeezed as dry as possible, and use a heavy pan. I used a Lodge 10.5 inch cast iron skillet. I used Canola oil for the oil and it really only needed about 5 minutes per side. My husband said they were so good,he didn't want to add ketchup (that's high praise!) Since there's just two of us, we saved half for breakfast tomorrow morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
These weren't bad, but more like a pancake-hash brown hybrid than a typical hash brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Emily.. These hash browns turned out perfect as per recipe.. I added some red bell pepper and everyone loved them this morning for breakfast..This is now the only way I will ever make hash browns.. Thanks E.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
A nice easy recipe that you can add your own personal touches to make even better. Thanks mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayman.30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very good! Nice small recipe that makes about 8 cakes. I shredded the onion, and added the salt and pepper to the mix before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I substituted the potato with sweet potato and added a dash of cinnamon. My family really liked it but i thought it was only okay. I can say my hash browns stayed very crispy hours after i made them which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States