Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Thank you!!! Thanks to my food processor, and this recipe, I will never have to pay a stranger to make me hash browns again. I finally found the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Just tried this it was good and the kids loved it but thought there was too much onion it made them really sweet and I prefer a less sweet taste so Id say use a bit less onion otherwise they're good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I served it with some Italian marinara sauce on top. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verner Drost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Great! Seldom do I see the proper instructions to make crispy hash browns. Rinsing to remove all of the starch and thoroughly drying the potatoes is the kicker to achieve mom n pop restaurant breakfast hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I've made these for years but a couple of things I want to relay to those that may not like this recipe. First off, I don't add much flour to mine. The more flour you add, the more bready they are going to be and the more of bready taste they will have. I use two or three large potatoes to about one half a cup of flour. According to this recipe, I drastically reduce the flour amount. Another thing I do is fry them in a hot cast iron skillet in a mixture of a little oil and a lot of butter. I do add a little onion but not much otherwise they will have a very oniony taste. Finally and perhaps most importantly, is I don't shred my taters to a mush....if you do, you'll have more of a bread patty. I shred them but not as fine as probably most people do. MIne come out very much a buttery flavored hash brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Literally the best hash browns I have had in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Finally I can make hashbrowns that don't fall apart!! I made these tonight and they turned out great. I added cumin because, for some reason, cumin and potatoes just work so well together. I also used peanut oil to fry them in -- that's what McDonald's uses for their fries, which is a big reason they're so delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Dozois

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kendallville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
What a great recipe. My Grandchildren love hashbrowns and ask for them almost everytime they visit. My previous attempts never turned out this good. They also love garlic mashed potatoes so the last time they were here, I made this recipe using garlic infused oil. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Fabulous! Will never make hash browns any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States