Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
These were delicious! I added a teaspoon of dried chives and fried them in canola oil. I will definitely make them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Yum! I'm all about short cuts, so I used the already shredded potatoes from my grocery store (not frozen), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Quick and simple. I added green pepper bits, will try green onion next time. Remember to keep pancakes flat so the inside middle cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I added shredded zucchini and jalapeño pepper with more seasonings! It came out so yummy. Made enough to freeze for my husband to have for breakfast as well. Great starter recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is a good recipe but my husband wasn't very happy with them so giving 3 stars. I wasn't perfectly satisfied with results either. I read some reviews and realised that the following steps will make them amazing : Rinse and soak in cold water a few times until the starch clears out. The starch makes them gooey and too mushy, so it must be rinsed out like we do rice. Then squeeze the living day lights out of them - that is.the water. Take out every drop of it. Squeeze and then completely pat dry. Then follow the recipe as it, except use 1/4 the quantity of oil. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saira Abbasi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Must try again. I think I need a cast iron skillet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Hot, crispy, hash brown perfection! I added a bit of garlic for extra flavor, and plenty of salt & pepper. Make sure your oil is the right temp so they don't turn out greasy or burn. The kids gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I can never make enough. I'm up to 6 or 7 large baking potatoes now. I neverr have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made this recipe yesterday and it was awesome... Watch out Waffle House, you have come competition!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These were great! I used Yukon Gold and was lazy and didn't rinse them. I also added a bunch of thyme and they turned out fantastic! My only advice is to make sure your oil stays hot while cooking, otherwise they will turn soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States