Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is a good recipe but my husband wasn't very happy with them so giving 3 stars. I wasn't perfectly satisfied with results either. I read some reviews and realised that the following steps will make them amazing : Rinse and soak in cold water a few times until the starch clears out. The starch makes them gooey and too mushy, so it must be rinsed out like we do rice. Then squeeze the living day lights out of them - that is.the water. Take out every drop of it. Squeeze and then completely pat dry. Then follow the recipe as it, except use 1/4 the quantity of oil. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saira Abbasi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Must try again. I think I need a cast iron skillet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Hot, crispy, hash brown perfection! I added a bit of garlic for extra flavor, and plenty of salt & pepper. Make sure your oil is the right temp so they don't turn out greasy or burn. The kids gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I can never make enough. I'm up to 6 or 7 large baking potatoes now. I neverr have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made this recipe yesterday and it was awesome... Watch out Waffle House, you have come competition!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These were great! I used Yukon Gold and was lazy and didn't rinse them. I also added a bunch of thyme and they turned out fantastic! My only advice is to make sure your oil stays hot while cooking, otherwise they will turn soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Wow, can there be any better hash browns than these? I followed the recipe exactly except that I added about 1/4 tsp. of cayenne and a half cup of homemade salsa for a little more kick and color. They were tremendous! They've found a safe place in our family recipe book. Thank you so much for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Delicious. Everytime I Bake them, they are gone in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Great recipe! Way too much oil though. I only ended up putting 1/2 cup in and it was more than enough. Otherwise fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeecheeH
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I never follow recipes cause sizes of like say potatoes are different I grated my potatoes added the egg then slowly add the flour i only ended up using like third of a cup I like spices and sell epicure so i added a heaping table soon of their onion and bacon cheese ball seasoning I used butter to fry them up with instead of oil cooked on 4 5 heat and more then 5 mins on each side when its golden brown on a lower temp its cooked Added salt and pepper to taste after it was cooked and these are by far amazing tasted so freaking good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States