Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
These turned out great! I've never had much success with homemade hashbrowns, always because I have just tried frying up plain grated potatoes, and I thought I would look for an actual recipe that might yield something a bit more restaurant-quality. This recipe is definetly it! They weren't greasy at all, they held together perfectly, and they looked quite pretty when they were done cooking, too. Next time, I think I will add my salt & pepper, plus some extra spices, to the shredded potato and egg/flour mixture, just to give it a more intense flavor. This recipe is so easy that I will have no problems just making these hashbrowns from memory, eyeballing the flour and spices, etc. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
552 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Great recipe...for those who detest frying like i do..I sprayed my grill with some PAM and cooked them for about 10-15 minutes..they were still crispy and not greasy at all! Added extra spices as well..yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
532 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Wow. Unbelievable. About as good as one could hope for. Crispy on the outside, firm and tasty on the inside. And what a flavor. This will be my hashbrown recipe from here on out. I do have one cautionary tip, particularly if like me, you haven't cooked hashbrowns before. Make sure that you don't have too much oil in the pan. The hashbrowns will take forever to brown and may be too greasy for your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This is a great versatile recipe. I used sweet potatoes instead of russetts and flavored them with salt, pepper, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and ground clove. Really delicious. If you have a food processor you can shred the potato and they will keep in the freezer until ready for use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharleyBrul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This recipe was fantastic! The hash browns were golden and crispy on the outside and creamy in the middle. My girlfriend said she felt like hash browns with bacon and onions in them so I used this recipe as my starting point. First, I pan-fryed 6 bacon strips until crispy (next time I will use at least 8). Then I broke up the bacon into tiny pieces and added them into the mix with the other ingredients along with 1/2 red onion chopped, sea salt and cracked black pepper. Also, i made little hash brown patties rather than covering the whole pan. They really turned out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICEPIRATE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Thank you, Emily! I've never had success with hash browns and those were wonderful. I used two skillets; one with a thick layer and another with just a thin layer. They were both great. I didn't use nearly as much oil as the recipe called for and will use even less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
My first try at making hash browns. Success. I added sharp cheddar, a little garlic powder,dash of oregano and some green onions. Extra virgin olive oil to fry in, about a quarter cup. Will keep this recipe and use over and over. Always trying a little something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Isn't it great when you can create something in the kitchen using simple ingredients. Here's a few ideas of playing around with an already excellent recipe. 1. Where the recipe calls for squeezing the liquid out of the shredded potatoes... it REALLY means it. Make sure all the liquid is gone. You might place the shredded potatoes in the middle of a clean tea towel, or cheesecloth, form into a small pouch, and squeeze. 2. If you're looking for a way to reduce the oil, here's a trick. Go to a local cooking store, and purchase an oil mister. Then pick up a bottle of grape seed oil (make sure it's unflavored). Grape seed oil will not impart any additional flavor to the dish, and it has a high smoke point. Fill the mister with the oil (a mister is like a refillable spray bottle). Now, get the hash browns ready for cooking. Preheat a skillet over medium-high heat, and then use the mister to spray the surface of the pan, and finally add a half tablespoon of sweet butter. Cook the hash browns until the outer surface is crispy, but not burned (about 5 minutes per side). They will taste great... without all that oil. You might want to sprinkle some finely grated cheddar or harvarti cheese over the top... up to you, and your guests. Serve while still nice and hot. They will be crispy on the outside, and soft on the inside. Keep the faith, and keep cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sous Andy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I thought it was weird that this recipe has so many different reviews, but this just wasn't good to us. I thought the flour and egg were fine (used less flour than recipe), but it was the oil. After the hash browns sat out on the paper towel they were still very oily. Maybe we will try MISSCATIAS suggestion of cooking them with no oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Made these for my husband's breakfast. Used red potatoes as that is what I had on hand and used 3 as they were not quite medium in size. Hash browns were great, fried nice and brown and very crisp, the way I like them. Will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States