Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Loved it. Glad I came across the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason L. Bell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I'll make my hash browns like this from now on. I made my hash browns into little patties which made it easier to cook. I did not use a lot of grease either. I tend to use some bacon grease when I'm making bacon with breakfast and it gave the potatoes a little more flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbass505

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have to say this didn't turn out well. The potatoes burnt before the insides cooked...I don't know what I didn't wrong, I have the hardest time with hash browns. The unburnt part was flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daushaus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I struggled with making good hash browns at home until I found this recipe. It's absolutely perfect and makes crunchy hash browns, which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
These were great!! I've tried making hash browns countless times, and they've never really been very close to restaurant hash browns, until I tried these! They were also super easy and fast! Thanks for an awesome recipe! Update: I already made these again! My husband even loves them, and he doesn't usually like hash browns. To the uncooked batter I added a little salt, pepper, and a few dashes of garlic powder, onion powder and mccormick chicken seasoning (I know it sounds strange, but if you're familiar with this seasoning, you know it's great on so much more than chicken). They were even better this time with the additional seasonings, but even with no changes, these are still the best hash browns I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great recipe, I added some Old Bay Seasoning and they turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Loved these hash browns. The first time I flipped them they were perfectly browned and stayed together nicely. The second flip was not as sucessful. They were not browned enough so I flipped them again and my nice patties all fell apart. Still tasty though. I will be more patient next time so they come out nice and pretty and in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My husband really liked them! Being I am from Louisiana I added Tony's and a dash of cayenne to give it a kick!! I will definately fix them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This really did give me restaurant style hashbrowns! The outside was golden and crispy and the inside was soft and creamy. For additional flavor I added some garlic powder and cayenne pepper. The only thing I did differently was not use nearly the oil as stated in the recipe due to many reviews saying they were greasy. Plus - I really didn't want the excess oil. I used just enough to lightly cover the bottom of the pan and made sure it was rippling hot before I added the hashbrowns. I then turned the temp down slightly so they wouldn't burn. When I flipped I didn't add any additional oil. The second side didn't have quite the golden crispy texture since it didn't have any extra oil, but, we still liked it and saved on some of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Proceed with CAUTION. Do NOT drop any food into boiling hot oil. This recipe literally blew up in my face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States