Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I've never been too successful at making hash browns, so I was really happy at the way these turned out! They were easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Since we did not have an onion we added bacon and sweet mini peppers. I cooked the bacon to near perfect then diced up as small as we could. Chopped up the peppers, and then tossed bacon and peppers into the pan for a little saute. After we mixed it together followed the rest as shown. Came out great. Will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Easy good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We make these hash browns at least once a week, usually after a long night of indulgence. We do add some slices of fresh peppers if we have them though. Also, adding a slice of cheese to the top on the final flip is highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Lived it! Just like my mom used to make. I used bacon fat for frying and added paprika for a smoky flavor. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I don't usually make a big breakfast, but our grandsons are visiting so, you know, I had to make it special. I'd never made hash browns from scratch, but this recipe looked easy enough, so I opted to give it a try, using tips from other reviews. I washed about 8 small (slightly soft) unpeeled red potatoes, then dried them before shredding them with a food processor. Then I rinsed the shredded potato per the recipe, then spun them in a salad spinner, and then patted them with paper towels to get them as dry as possible. (I suspect some of the bad reviews come from not drying the potatoes enough.) I added the egg and flour, about 1 tbsp. onion powder, a tsp. of Kosher salt, and about a dozen strands of saffron (a delicious tip from an entirely different potato recipe). I used a cast iron griddle wiped down with Grape Seed Oil, and I tossed on a tbsp. of butter just before spreading the potato mix out to about 1/2" thick. (In other words, I used far less "grease" than the recipe calls for.) I flipped them after about 10 minutes and tossed another tbsp. of butter onto the griddle for the second side. They browned up nicely after another 10 minutes. The boys liked them (mission accomplished) but the real surprise was my husband of 32 years: he's a hash brown addict who says these are "hands down" the best he's ever eaten: "crunchy on the outside and not oily. Perfect. The best ever!" I don't get raving compliments like that very often. So thank you, Emily. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Thank you!!! Thanks to my food processor, and this recipe, I will never have to pay a stranger to make me hash browns again. I finally found the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Just tried this it was good and the kids loved it but thought there was too much onion it made them really sweet and I prefer a less sweet taste so Id say use a bit less onion otherwise they're good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I served it with some Italian marinara sauce on top. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verner Drost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States