Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
We have been making these for many years - we call them Potato Pancakes… We love them as well with sour cream. They are also excellent with pancetta diced and fried prior to adding to the "hash browns". YUM!! I never use that much oil to fry. I use a non-stick griddle and they turn out just fine. BOOMCHICKABOOM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My family calls these latke's or potato pancakes, its a base recipe that is fantastic. I do use a bit less flour and I make sure that as much liquid from the grated/shredded potatoes is squeezed out (put shreds/grated potato in colander press down with papertowel, mix it up do it again - a few times) this helps for a firmer latke where you can use less flour - in my opinion too much flour can ruin these. 1/4 cup is about right, but you have to judge the potatoes you use, some are "wetter" than others and I generally use less than a 1/4 cup. and now for the best part.. You can jazz these up in so many ways!! Add hot sauce for a spicy mix to the egg, italian or ranch dry seasoning w/ the flour. Taco seasoning.. the list is endless! another little tip, if you, as I do, occasionally try not to fry everything in sight for health, you can do these in the oven, but I suggest first microwaving the potato shreds for just a couple of minutes, then mix everything when the shreds have cooled. Form the patties (not too thick or thin) spray with butter flavored cooking spray,and then pop into the oven. If you're worried about trying in the oven- test a few while you're frying so you can judge temp/thickness etc. for added pizzazz... put a slice of your fav. cheese on top when they're nearly done. We've tried all these variations regularly - and this is a GREAT Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This recipe is right on. Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Shultz
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Absolutely perfect!! I grated ginger root in as well. They were honestly the best hash browns I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
this is exactly how I make my potato latkes, I add a touch of baking powder to make these fluffy. Anyway you say it, it is delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy613

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Good. I would a pinch of nutmeg for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Might try cooking in a waffle iron. Add some olive oil to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
OK, I have not done this exact recipe and love hash browns, but that said, I always put my potato (russet, pierced with fork) in the microwave for 5 min. per potato, let it cool before grating. The trick is to remove the starch, or convert it by heating, before frying. It's the starch that make the potato stick to the fry pan. Heating the potato cracks the starch (converts it to a sugar)thus microwaving it prior to frying. The rest of this recipe (flour, onion, egg, salt and pepper) sounds great. I use butter rather than oil because it doesn't stick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The proportion of onions and potatoes is off. Too much onion and they should be grated. One cup of oil? Wow! Too greasy...and unnecessary. Seasoning the batter would give more flavor throughout. I would not try these again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Sandoval

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Junction, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Adding an egg and perhaps even the flour makes for a potato pancake or latkes… If you shred the potatoes, season and then lightly dust with flour, you'll enjoy a nice dish of hash browns. Before serving toss in some cilantro and a couple tblsps of water to create steam and cover… without the flour an even more authentic, crispy hash brown. However, this is "Emily's Famous Hash Browns" as printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States