Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
OK, I have not done this exact recipe and love hash browns, but that said, I always put my potato (russet, pierced with fork) in the microwave for 5 min. per potato, let it cool before grating. The trick is to remove the starch, or convert it by heating, before frying. It's the starch that make the potato stick to the fry pan. Heating the potato cracks the starch (converts it to a sugar)thus microwaving it prior to frying. The rest of this recipe (flour, onion, egg, salt and pepper) sounds great. I use butter rather than oil because it doesn't stick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The proportion of onions and potatoes is off. Too much onion and they should be grated. One cup of oil? Wow! Too greasy...and unnecessary. Seasoning the batter would give more flavor throughout. I would not try these again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Sandoval

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Junction, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Adding an egg and perhaps even the flour makes for a potato pancake or latkes… If you shred the potatoes, season and then lightly dust with flour, you'll enjoy a nice dish of hash browns. Before serving toss in some cilantro and a couple tblsps of water to create steam and cover… without the flour an even more authentic, crispy hash brown. However, this is "Emily's Famous Hash Browns" as printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe is pretty good. I also pre-soak the potatoes in a little chicken broth which, if you don't have a box already opened, can be made from chicken base and water. Leftover mashed potatoes also crisp up very well when given a bath in chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I added a touch of cayenne pepper and small amount of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Great recipe. I never thought to add flour and egg to the potato mixture, but I think that was the trick. I'm not a super spicy person, but I added a little cayenne pepper along with the salt and pepper and they were fantastic. And tip I read that helped: I used my salad spinner to dry the potatoes. Best hashbrown recipe I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This recipe was great! My first time making hash browns and the family loved them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I've never been too successful at making hash browns, so I was really happy at the way these turned out! They were easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Since we did not have an onion we added bacon and sweet mini peppers. I cooked the bacon to near perfect then diced up as small as we could. Chopped up the peppers, and then tossed bacon and peppers into the pan for a little saute. After we mixed it together followed the rest as shown. Came out great. Will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Easy good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States