Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Excellent and so easy. It's a great way to "hash" when camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Loved it, but changed a few things. Used the equivalent weight of unpeeled red potatoes. Soaked the grated potatoes in a quart of water with 1 tsp salt for 10 minutes, then rinsed and squeezed dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My family loves hash-browns...I make them in a 12 inch skillet and when it is time to flip them, grab a sheet pan, place it over the skillet, invert and then slid them back into the pan...voila, perfectly flipped hash browns! (then i use the sheet pan to keep them warm in the oven while i prepare everyone's eggs.)Cut with a pizza cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. OConnor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
These are definitely "Good old fashioned restaurant-style hash browns..." like those I remember and which are pretty much impossible to find today. Whether they are more like latkes or hashbrowns is irrelevant: they are wonderful! I can finally end my search for a good hashbrown recipe. The only change I made was to use unflavored frozen hashbrowns (because I hate shredding) and to defrost, and thereby dryout, on a paper plate sprayed with cooking oil in the microwave. Thank you your mom, you have make me very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Meh..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Emily Hash Browns are famous at my home now. so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This recipe is exactly the same as our Potato Pancake Recipe. Best served with sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Didn't like the flavor. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Really delicious. I used the little boxes of dehydrated hashbrowns from costco and dehydrated chopped onions, chopped red pepper, and salt and pepper prior to frying. Had to use two eggs and 1/2 cup of flour due to increased potato amount. Fried in bacon drippings and was delicious and unbelievably fast this way. Family loved it!! Will try with real potatoes and onions when I have more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Delicious! I was out of flour so I used Bisquick as a substitute. I also added garlic powder to the recipe and everybody loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States