Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Great recipe! I used less oil and they browned nicely anyway. I recommend rinsing and spinning the potato shreds in a salad spinner. Much easier. Though you probably want to do it two batches. PattieB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I grew up in the country with hash browns several times a week. These are THE BEST I've ever had! Probably not the most healthy for you but hey, if you are going to do it, DO IT RIGHT and these definitely right! I fried them up separately and put them on a rack in a warm oven. They stay nice and crisp that way and were ready when I needed them. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
The never ending winter (2013-14) has been one of lots of comfort food in my home. My gf and I just added this great recipe to our list. I used a mix of russet, red and yellow-fleshed potatoes that were going soft. They turned out great with a excellent crispy exterior and softer interior. We fried them in canola oil in a large cast iron pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I had to make a bit more because of the men I was feeding with this, so I multiplied the recipe by 1 1/2. I used 3 medium russet potatoes, a Jumbo egg, 1/3 cup flour, half an onion, half a bell pepper and a couple of chopped mushrooms. However, I reduced the oil to 3/4 cup so they wouldn't be so greasy. I used an iron skillet and cooked them on a lower heat (#6 on an electric stove). They were difficult to flip, but once I did, I moved them into the oven on 350 to finish them off nicely. It took much longer to cook that way, but they came out perfect. I WILL make this again! There wasn't a crumb left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is definitely going to be our family forever recipe! You can't go back to frozen one ! Also made kind of pancake using cabbage instead of potato.yummy and healthy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kyoto, Kyoto, Japan
Living In: Gambrills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Excellent and so easy. It's a great way to "hash" when camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Loved it, but changed a few things. Used the equivalent weight of unpeeled red potatoes. Soaked the grated potatoes in a quart of water with 1 tsp salt for 10 minutes, then rinsed and squeezed dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My family loves hash-browns...I make them in a 12 inch skillet and when it is time to flip them, grab a sheet pan, place it over the skillet, invert and then slid them back into the pan...voila, perfectly flipped hash browns! (then i use the sheet pan to keep them warm in the oven while i prepare everyone's eggs.)Cut with a pizza cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. OConnor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
These are definitely "Good old fashioned restaurant-style hash browns..." like those I remember and which are pretty much impossible to find today. Whether they are more like latkes or hashbrowns is irrelevant: they are wonderful! I can finally end my search for a good hashbrown recipe. The only change I made was to use unflavored frozen hashbrowns (because I hate shredding) and to defrost, and thereby dryout, on a paper plate sprayed with cooking oil in the microwave. Thank you your mom, you have make me very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Meh..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States