Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Finally I can make hashbrowns that don't fall apart!! I made these tonight and they turned out great. I added cumin because, for some reason, cumin and potatoes just work so well together. I also used peanut oil to fry them in -- that's what McDonald's uses for their fries, which is a big reason they're so delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Dozois

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kendallville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
What a great recipe. My Grandchildren love hashbrowns and ask for them almost everytime they visit. My previous attempts never turned out this good. They also love garlic mashed potatoes so the last time they were here, I made this recipe using garlic infused oil. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Fabulous! Will never make hash browns any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
i tried this receipe today becuase i love hash browns and they are not very comun where i live now. it was great and so easy to make. i did have to do some adjustments becuase of the different type of potatoe but everything went well. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Great Recipe. Will be adding this to my list of regular items to make for breaksfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
5 Stars! When trying a new recipe I always try to follow the original the first time and then make adjustments the second or third time. My husband loved these hash browns, absolutely picture perfect. Next time I make these I am going to try adding diced sweet peppers, salt and pepper to the mix maybe a little bit of garlic. I used very little oil. I believe the trick is HOT oil in the pan so the potatoes don't get oily. I've tried making hash browns but never with this success and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is my Potato Pancake recipe, except I add about 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder to brown them a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Great recipe!!! I didn't have potatoes so I used cassava and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
My family loved this. I also substituted the potato for Zucchini and made Zucchini hashbrowns. Works good too and probably better for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Taste was okay, but there was too much oil and I couldn't turn them over in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States