Emily's Famous Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Very tasty! I made a vegan version using Ener-g egg replacer. I also used less oil and added a few drops of Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyloewenthal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
My husband is a bit of a hash brown snob and he simply went nuts over this recipe. I thought it was pretty simple and followed the recipe to the letter. I think the key is making sure the potatoes are thoroughly rinsed and squeezed as dry as possible, and use a heavy pan. I used a Lodge 10.5 inch cast iron skillet. I used Canola oil for the oil and it really only needed about 5 minutes per side. My husband said they were so good,he didn't want to add ketchup (that's high praise!) Since there's just two of us, we saved half for breakfast tomorrow morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
These weren't bad, but more like a pancake-hash brown hybrid than a typical hash brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Emily.. These hash browns turned out perfect as per recipe.. I added some red bell pepper and everyone loved them this morning for breakfast..This is now the only way I will ever make hash browns.. Thanks E.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
A nice easy recipe that you can add your own personal touches to make even better. Thanks mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayman.30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very good! Nice small recipe that makes about 8 cakes. I shredded the onion, and added the salt and pepper to the mix before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I substituted the potato with sweet potato and added a dash of cinnamon. My family really liked it but i thought it was only okay. I can say my hash browns stayed very crispy hours after i made them which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
FOUND- the Holy Grail of hash browns! Thank you Emily!!! I followed the recipe as written and plan a few changes next time to add shredded cheddar cheese and bacon plus a bit less Smart Balance oil. There was a teaspoon full of oil left after frying up 1/2 package of frozen shredded potatoes. I washed them and dried them thoroughly before mixing with the egg, onions, and flour. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Loved it. Glad I came across the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason L. Bell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States