Emily's Famous Chocolate Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I just came back to get this recipe because I lost it and I use it every Christmas to make our "Perfect Men" cookies: gingerbread men made of chocolate shortbread. We love this recipe, but we change it just a little. We use 1/2 cup extra cocoa and 1/2 cup less of flour. This way, the dough is the same consistency, but flavor is much more chocolatey. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Very good cookies! I softened the butter instead of cutting it in- much less work and they turned out wonderful. I took SugarPlum's advice and increased the cocoa (by 1/4 cup) and decreased the flour by the same amount. I'm glad I did- the chocolate flavor is perfect for me. Used organic cocoa and one cup whole wheat pastry flour. Dough was a tiny bit sticky so I stuck it in the fridge for 20 minutes and rolled it out between wax paper. Cut into heart shapes and frosted with pink frosting (Decorator Frosting from this site) for Valentine's Day. I found between 7.5 -8 minutes to be the pefect baking time, depending on how thick the cookies were. My babies helped me make these and LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by KARENGANELEE
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Substituted 1/2 c more cocoa for 1/2 c flour, added pinch of baking soda. Melted the butter, mixed the wet ingredients, sifted the dry ingredients together, added the dry to the wet. Chilled it for about 30 minutes. Rolled 1/4 inch thick. 1 1/2 inch heart cookies took 6 minutes, 3 inch heart cookies took 8 minutes. These are sturdy enough to use in cookie bouquets. I did not add chocolate, but piped icing. Excellent flavor. They are better after several hours rather than straight out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
soooooooooooooo good! But...,my inexperienced friend( it was her first time making cookies) thought it was too dry and added milk...so it wasn't really a shortbread cookie in the end, but it tasted great! It was a bit gooey and ever so chocolately!!! The chocolate chips didn't really melt very well, and we accidentally burnt a little bit. It was more of a paste instead of something that you could dip in, so we kind of spread it on like butter. It tasted really good though and it's quite easy to make. (believe me, we succeeded and we are real cooking beginners. We can mess up even the simplest recipe...but, man they tasted good!) Even my mom who is really health conscious and looks down on fattening treats loved these and actually complpimented us (which is rare) Soopooh and friends ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
After all the mixed reviews i decided to still give these a shot. They were great, not too sweet, but I liked that. The dough was so easy to work with and my cookies were sturdy. People who complained need a little lesson in cookie making i think. A shortbread cookie should never be rolled too thin. And I always roll cookies between 2 pieces of parchment paper, then i chilled the flattened dough and cut the cookies and bake. And you really can't over bake them. As soon as the tops were no longer glistening I took them out of the oven. then i drizzled some melted chocolate over the tops. Beauty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
The cookie is okay but not at all "extra chocolaty". The texture is good. I own a cookie business and was trying out a few chocolate shortbread recipes. The search continues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELALOVESDMB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I made these and brought them to the office--they were a big hit. Also, I used regular cocoa with a bit of baking powder as the recipe suggests, and they turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
I loved these cookies. I did have to chill the dough for a little while before I rolled it out. I cut the recipe in half and was able to get 2 1/2 dozen cookies. Instead of dipping them in chocolate, i used the sugar cookie frosting recipe and added cocoa to it. I heated it up before spreading it onto the cookies and it was beautiful. These are so chocolaty, they taste great with a sweet frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by your mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tukwila, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I found this recipe when other searches for a non-cakey red velvet cookie turned up short. Got me to thinking that since red velvet cake is a chocolate cake in diguise, why wouldn't that apply to cut-out cookies as well? This chocolate shortbread recipe appealed to me because of the numerous dependable reviews and gorgeous pictures, so I knew what my end result should resemble. I simply decreased the cocoa powder by half, added a small amount of Wilton's Red-Red to desired shade then cut and baked as directed. Once decorated, these shortbread, while not as chocolatey as the original recipe, not only look gorgeous (pics in profile), they taste gorgeous too. Thanks Emily, soon your red velvet shortbread cookies will be famous as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These turned out perfectly. We made them exactly as shown in the picture, cut into hearts and sandwiched with pink tinted frosting.I did find the dough needed a fair bit of dusting with flour to prevent sticking. About half way through I switched to cocoa for dusting to avoid too much white in the dough. Loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States