Emily's Famous Chocolate Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Delicious chocolatey cookie! I did take the advice of other reviewers and increased the cocoa for my double batch by 1/2 C and decreased the flour by the same. These turned out wonderfully, and it's too bad I'm selling them, because my kids can't keep their hands off of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Love this recipe. A bit of salt on top of the cookie, without chocolate on top, really brings out the chocolaty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These turned out perfectly. We made them exactly as shown in the picture, cut into hearts and sandwiched with pink tinted frosting.I did find the dough needed a fair bit of dusting with flour to prevent sticking. About half way through I switched to cocoa for dusting to avoid too much white in the dough. Loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
These were pretty good, not as sweet as I'd expected. I took other reviewers advice and upped the cocoa powder -- maybe next time I'll not and see if they're any sweeter. I like my chocolate goods not as sweet (hence the 4 stars), but I married a sugar addict.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Wonderful receipe, made the cookies for my son's 2nd birthday, all the mums loved it and asked me for this recipe. Just watch out that you don't bake the cookies too long or they will dry out. For me 8 minutes was enough - as soon as the top looked a bit dry I took them out. They were still a bit soft but hardened well when they cooled off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polarmist

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Don't roll too thin. Use extra 1/4C choc in place of 1/4C flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe. I followed some of the raters advice and added more cocoa and baked for 7 minutes and wow!I melted and swirled some dark and white chocolate over the cut out cookies.My testers said the cookies tasted more like brownies and not so much like shortbread.The cookies did not last very long...Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
this is a great chocolate shortbread cookie recipe. The taste is very chocolatey and is exactly what a shortbread cookie should taste like. If you are looking for real shortbread cookie recipe- this is a good one to try. Keeping in mind that shortbread cookies are not supposed to be chewy or intense in flavor. This cookie turns out firm, yet soft and has a great chocolate taste without being overly sweet. One thing to try is melting white chocolate chips to drizzle over the cookies- It makes them look very pretty. And don't overcook them- 7-8mins. is ideal depending on how big a cut out you use, they will continue cooking on the cookie sheet as they cool. thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Good chocolate shortbread! I tried them as sandwiches, with the chocolate drizzle and with a bit of icing on top and everyone prefers something different! I also substituted in the 1/4 cup cocoa for same amount of flour and that did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I couldn't even form these into balls, let alone roll it out! I have given this recipe 2 tries and came up with the same thing twice, a garbage can full of cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States