Emily's Famous Chocolate Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
So tasty! I substituted mint extract for the vanilla and made my own thin mints! Nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I softened the butter slightly, cut into squares and added to flour/cocoa/sugar mixture. I mixed on low speed until the butter was "pea size." I lined the cookies sheets with parchment paper and lightly sprayed with Bakers Joy. I cut the cookies into shapes, lightly coating (using a pastry brush) with a mixture of one egg white and one tablespoon water. This created a lovely sheen and helped the sparkling sugar to adhere. I baked for 8 minutes, cooled for four on the cookie sheet, and moved to a cooling rack. I drizzled with melted semi-sweet chocolate. These cookies are the perfect chocolate treat without being too sweet. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Really tasty! Not overwhelmingly chocolatey, but a nice chocolate flavour and perfect texture. I did cutouts of stars and drizzled them in white chocolate, yummm! And because I can't follow directions well, I used regular cocoa with no added baking powder and they turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
It was so strange making these, but they're delicious! I ended up having to knead the dough with my hands before it'd come together, but that just made it more fun to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I found this recipe when other searches for a non-cakey red velvet cookie turned up short. Got me to thinking that since red velvet cake is a chocolate cake in diguise, why wouldn't that apply to cut-out cookies as well? This chocolate shortbread recipe appealed to me because of the numerous dependable reviews and gorgeous pictures, so I knew what my end result should resemble. I simply decreased the cocoa powder by half, added a small amount of Wilton's Red-Red to desired shade then cut and baked as directed. Once decorated, these shortbread, while not as chocolatey as the original recipe, not only look gorgeous (pics in profile), they taste gorgeous too. Thanks Emily, soon your red velvet shortbread cookies will be famous as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
After all the mixed reviews i decided to still give these a shot. They were great, not too sweet, but I liked that. The dough was so easy to work with and my cookies were sturdy. People who complained need a little lesson in cookie making i think. A shortbread cookie should never be rolled too thin. And I always roll cookies between 2 pieces of parchment paper, then i chilled the flattened dough and cut the cookies and bake. And you really can't over bake them. As soon as the tops were no longer glistening I took them out of the oven. then i drizzled some melted chocolate over the tops. Beauty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is incredible!! We followed the suggestion to increase the cocoa by a 1/2 cup and reduce the flour by a half a cup. Perfection. We rolled out the dough and placed the whole thing on a cookie sheet. After it was baked, we then used cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Durham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
So very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly for the cookies except for refrigerating the dough and rolling them as thin as possible before cutting them. I added more mint to the filling and they were a hit. A surprisingly mild chocolatey-mint flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States