Emily's Famous Chocolate Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
I think these cookies rule! They were really fun and easy to make, and they baked up perfectly. A chocolate lover's DREAM!!! Oh, mama!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
I loved these cookies. I did have to chill the dough for a little while before I rolled it out. I cut the recipe in half and was able to get 2 1/2 dozen cookies. Instead of dipping them in chocolate, i used the sugar cookie frosting recipe and added cocoa to it. I heated it up before spreading it onto the cookies and it was beautiful. These are so chocolaty, they taste great with a sweet frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by your mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tukwila, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
These cookies are SO good! Just a little drizzle of chocolate on the top makes them perfect; just let right sweetness. The kids loved them, too! Everyone who sampled them loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
OK, but not great. Lacked the crispness you expect from a shortbread cookie, and flavor was average. Dough was sticky and needed refrigeration before rolling. Plain melted chocolate chips don't have the right consistency for drizzling or dipping (would perhaps need to add a little shortening) - so I ended up spreading it on with a spoon. Best with small, simple shaped cookie cutters. Very attractive cookie. I also did some small hearts where I frosted half with white chocolate - would be lovely for Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I made these and brought them to the office--they were a big hit. Also, I used regular cocoa with a bit of baking powder as the recipe suggests, and they turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
soooooooooooooo good! But...,my inexperienced friend( it was her first time making cookies) thought it was too dry and added milk...so it wasn't really a shortbread cookie in the end, but it tasted great! It was a bit gooey and ever so chocolately!!! The chocolate chips didn't really melt very well, and we accidentally burnt a little bit. It was more of a paste instead of something that you could dip in, so we kind of spread it on like butter. It tasted really good though and it's quite easy to make. (believe me, we succeeded and we are real cooking beginners. We can mess up even the simplest recipe...but, man they tasted good!) Even my mom who is really health conscious and looks down on fattening treats loved these and actually complpimented us (which is rare) Soopooh and friends ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
The cookie is okay but not at all "extra chocolaty". The texture is good. I own a cookie business and was trying out a few chocolate shortbread recipes. The search continues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELALOVESDMB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This recipe made gorgeous cookies for our First Communion reception! I formed the cookies using a chalice cookie cutter, then dipped the bottoms in Ghirardelli mint chocolate and "frosted" the tops with a raspberry glaze. Passing this recipe along has been a request gladly fulfilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I just came back to get this recipe because I lost it and I use it every Christmas to make our "Perfect Men" cookies: gingerbread men made of chocolate shortbread. We love this recipe, but we change it just a little. We use 1/2 cup extra cocoa and 1/2 cup less of flour. This way, the dough is the same consistency, but flavor is much more chocolatey. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Very good cookies! I softened the butter instead of cutting it in- much less work and they turned out wonderful. I took SugarPlum's advice and increased the cocoa (by 1/4 cup) and decreased the flour by the same amount. I'm glad I did- the chocolate flavor is perfect for me. Used organic cocoa and one cup whole wheat pastry flour. Dough was a tiny bit sticky so I stuck it in the fridge for 20 minutes and rolled it out between wax paper. Cut into heart shapes and frosted with pink frosting (Decorator Frosting from this site) for Valentine's Day. I found between 7.5 -8 minutes to be the pefect baking time, depending on how thick the cookies were. My babies helped me make these and LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States